Icelandic Grammar

Cours audio langue islandaise mp3

Note: this information pack on the Icelandic language was referenced in the work of Auður Einarsdottir and his team (Guðrun Theodorstdottir, Maria Garðarsdottir, Sigriður Þorvaldsdottir) in the book "Learning Icelandic" published by Mal og menning.

The Icelandic language is fascinating in the sense that it has changed very little for several centuries. In fact, it is considered to be spoken in 13th century Norwegian.

For all travelers and enthusiasts of this region with its magnificent landscapes, we invite you to access our audio Icelandic course .

Cours audio d'islandais
Cours audio d'islandais - Leçon #1 gratuite
00:00 / 00:00

Icelandic Grammar

Here are some aspects of Icelandic grammar that may help you in your study of the spoken language. Indeed, our 100% audio Icelandic course will allow you a real foray into the everyday language as it is spoken in Iceland today. For a better understanding of the mechanisms of the Icelandic language, we invite you to read this short grammar guide.

History of the Icelandic language: When Iceland was first colonized in the 9th century, the vast majority of settlers came from Norway, some of them having taken slaves from Ireland. During the first centuries (from the 9th to the 14th century), the same language was thus spoken as much in Norway as on the current territory of Iceland. Apart from some borrowings from Celtic languages, the language was similar in these two countries. The distinction between the two languages ​​was made in the 14th century: the Norwegian inflections became simpler while the sounds of Icelandic changed. The Icelandic language is often said to be similar to 13th century Norwegian.

The cases in Icelandic: Icelandic has a declination system. In other words, nouns, adjectives as well as pronouns can have 4 different cases (or functions): nominative, accusative (complement of direct object), dative (complement of indirect object) and genitive (complement of noun ). The cases also depend on whether the word is singular or plural. The form in which we find Icelandic words in the dictionary is always in the nominative (also called the subject case).

Nominative in Icelandic: The nominative is the subject function (of the sentence). It is in this form that we find words in the Icelandic dictionary. Here are the words "Icelandic - íslenska "And" French - franska "referring to the language. In the following sentence, it is subject, therefore to the nominative.

  1. Íslenska er fallegt tungumál - Icelandic is a beautiful language.

  2. Franska er fallegt tungumál - French is a beautiful language

Let’s look at two more examples with the words “my friend - vinur minn ” and “my father - faðir minn ” which are both nominative in the following sentences. They are registered since they are subjects of the sentence they begin.

  1. Vinur minn er mjög góður. - My friend is very nice.

  2. Faðir minn er mjög góður. - My father is very nice.

Íslenska , franska , vinur minn and faðir minn are all 4 registered in the previous sentences. Let us now study their transformation when they become a direct object.

Accusative in Icelandic : The accusative answers the question "who, what?" ". Here are 4 examples with the words "Icelandic - íslensku "," French - franska "," my friend - vinur minn "and" my father - faðir minn " and that we have just seen in their nominative form. In the accusative form, here are the same words:

  1. Ég tala íslensku - I speak Icelandic.

  2. Ég tala frönsku - I speak French

  3. Ég heimsæki vinkonu mína - I visit my friend

  4. Ég heimsæki föður minn - I visit my father.

 

Dative in Icelandic : The dative is the indirect object complement function and answers the question "to whom, to what". To fully appreciate the change of form in the dative, you have to compare it with the same Icelandic words in their nominative form. So here are the following sentences:

  1. Vinur minn er mjög góður. - My friend is very nice. (in registered form: vinur minn )

  2. Faðir minn er mjög góður. - My father is very nice. (in registered form: faðir minn )

  3. Ég tala við vinkonu mína. - I'm talking to my friend. (in dative: við vinkonu mína )

  4. Ég tala við föður minn. - I'm talking to my father. (dative: við föður minn )

Genitive in Icelandic : the genitive case is, in all the languages ​​which use it, that of the complement of the noun. It marks possession and is usually preceded by the word "de" in French. To better understand the genitive case and the transformation it makes Icelandic names undergo, here are two examples with words seen previously: Vinur minn - my friend and Faðir minn - my father.

Faðir vinkonu minnar er mjög góður. - My friend's father is very nice

Vinur föður míns er mjög góður. - My father's friend is very nice

Gender in Icelandic: Whether for nouns or adjectives, they can be masculine, feminine or neutral. On the other hand, no rule makes it possible to establish whether a word is masculine, feminine or neutral. However, male names in Icelandic often end in - ur , - r , - i , - ll or - nn . Feminine names will often see an - a , - ing or a - un at the end of the word. Neutral nouns have no definite ending and the last vowel is usually stressed. Here are some examples of Icelandic words.

Faðir - father Eiginmaður - husband

Sonur - son Stelpa - daughter

Afi - grandfather

Some tips to help you determine the gender of a word (noun) in Icelandic:

  • Generally speaking, in Icelandic, the words masculine and feminine often refer to men and women.

  • In Icelandic, neutral nouns normally refer to non-gendered people or groups (eg children, singles, etc.).

  • In Icelandic, a nominative word ending in - ur is almost always masculine.

  • In Icelandic, a nominative word ending in - a is very often feminine (the neutrals in - a are few)

  • A word that ends in -i is either masculine or neutral. He is never feminine.

Note, however, that exceptions may arise. Words like brúður (wife) ending with a ending normally used in masculine words (- ur ) are nevertheless feminine.

Articles in Icelandic : In Icelandic, names are either defined or undefined. Icelandic does not have, as in French, an indefinite article such as (un, une, de, des). As for the definite articles, they are affixed at the end of the word. Thus, " drengur - a boy" will become " drengurinn - the boy". The neutral word " barn - child" will change to " barið - the child". Here are other examples of articles in Icelandic:

work - vinna work - verkið

book - bók the book - bókinni

teacher - prófessor the teacher - prófessorinn

country - landi the country - landinu

city ​​- borg the city - borgina

Personal pronouns in Icelandic : The same French personal pronouns exist in Icelandic. To this, however, we must add the "they - Þau " to designate neutral things.

I - Eg

You - Þú

He - Hann

She - Hún

This - Það

Us - Við

You - Þið

They - Þeir

They - Þær

They (neutral) - Þau

Icelandic verbs : The Icelandic conjugation distinguishes between strong verbs and weak verbs. Icelandic verbs are always conjugated according to tense, mode, person, number and way. Regarding the way, Icelandic has three: the active, passive and middle (or medial) way. The modes in Icelandic are similar to French which includes the indicative, imperative, conditional and subjunctive. Icelandic tenses are less complicated than in French since we only consider two: the present and the simple past. All others are built using auxiliary.

Negation in Icelandic : In Icelandic, if you want to form a sentence in its negative form, just place " ekki " after the verb. Here are some examples of negative sentences in Icelandic:

  1. Ég læri ekki íslensku með kennara. - I don't learn Icelandic with a teacher.

  2. Þú skilur ekki íslensku. - You don't understand Icelandic.

  3. Ég fer ekki til Reykjavíkur á morgun. - I'm not going to Reykjavik tomorrow.

  4. Við vinnum ekki saman. - We don't work together.

Word order in Icelandic: The word order in Icelandic is generally that which also prevails in most other European languages. Icelandic is therefore, like French, of the SVO type (subject-verb-object) but the highly inflectional character of Icelandic allows it to change this order for poetic or style reasons. Here are some examples of Icelandic sentences. Note the word order, very similar to French:

  1. Ég læri íslensku á hverjum degi með kennara.

I learn Icelandic every day with a teacher.

(subject + verb + circumstantial complement of tense + object)

  1. Þú ferð í skólann. - You go to school.

  2. Þú ferð í skólann í dag. - You're going to school today.

  3. Við lærðum íslensku málfræði. - We learned Icelandic grammar.

For Icelandic adjectives now, read the following examples to better understand the determining order - determined in Icelandic.

  1. an interesting book - fróðleg bók

  2. a nice teacher - ágætur kennari

  3. an audio course in Icelandic - íslenskt hljóðnámskeið

  4. a dangerous region - hættulegt svæði

  5. an Icelandic national park - íslenskur þjóðgarður

  6. an exciting Icelandic course - spennandi íslenskunámskeið

  7. a small village - lítið þorp

  8. a big city - stór borg

  9. an active volcano - virkt eldfjall

  10. an unpredictable geyser - óútreiknanlegur geysir

Cours audio d'islandais
Cours audio d'islandais - Leçon #1 gratuite
00:00 / 00:00

Grammaire de l'islandais

Note : ce dossier d’informations sur la langue islandaise a pris ses référence dans les travaux de Auður Einarsdottir et son équipe (Guðrun Theodorstdottir, Maria Garðarsdottir, Sigriður Þorvaldsdottir) dans le livre "Learning Icelandic" aux éditions Mal og menning.

La langue islandaise est fascinante dans le sens où elle a très peu changer depuis plusieurs siècles. On considère en fait qu'on y parle le norvégien du 13ème siècle. 

Pour tous les voyageurs et passionnés de cette région aux paysages magnifiques, nous vous invitons à accéder à notre cours audio d'islandais.

Cours audio d'islandais
Cours audio d'islandais - Leçon #1 gratuite
00:00 / 00:00

Grammaire de l’islandais

Voici certains aspects de la grammaire islandaise qui pourront vous aider dans votre étude de la langue parlée. En effet, notre cours 100% audio d’islandais vous permettra une réelle incursion dans la langue de tous les jours telle qu’elle est parlée en Islande actuellement. Pour une meilleure compréhension des mécanismes de la langue islandaise, nous vous invitons à lire ce petit guide grammatical.

Histoire de la langue islandaise : Lorsque l'Islande fut colonisée pour la première fois au 9ème siècle, l'immense majorité des colons venaient de Norvège, certains d'entre eux ayant emmené des esclaves d'Irlande. Au cours des premiers siècles (du 9ème au 14ème siècle), la même langue était donc parlée autant en Norvège que sur le territoire actuelle de l'Islande. Mis à part quelques emprunts aux langues celtiques, la langue était similaire dans ces deux pays. La distinction entre les deux langues s'est faite au 14ème siècle : les inflexions norvégiennes se sont simplifiées tandis que les sonorités de l'islandais ont changés. On dit souvent de la langue islandaise, qu’elle est similaire au norvégien du 13ème siècle.

Les cas en islandais : L’islandais possède un système de déclinaison. En d’autres termes, les noms, les adjectifs ainsi que les pronoms peuvent avoir 4 cas (ou fonction) différents: nominatif, accusatif (complément d’objet direct), datif (complément d’objet indirect) et génitif (complément du nom). Les cas dépendent également du caractère singulier ou pluriel du mot. La forme dans laquelle on retrouve les mots islandais dans le dictionnaire est toujours au nominatif (appelée aussi le cas sujet).

Nominatif en islandais : Le nominatif est la fonction sujet (de la phrase). C’est à cette forme qu’on retrouve les mots dans le dictionnaire islandais. Voici les mots « islandais - íslenska » et « français - franska » en faisant référence à la langue. Dans la phrase suivante, il est sujet, donc au nominatif.

  1. Íslenska er fallegt tungumál – L’islandais est une belle langue.

  2. Franska er fallegt tungumál – Le français est une belle langue

Étudions deux autres exemples avec les mots « mon ami - vinur minn » et « mon père - faðir minn » qui sont tous deux au nominatif dans les phrases suivantes. Ils sont au nominatif puisqu’ils sont sujets de le phrase qu’ils débutent.

  1. Vinur minn er mjög góður. - Mon ami est très gentil.

  2. Faðir minn er mjög góður. - Mon père est très gentil.

Íslenska, franska, vinur minn et  faðir minn sont tous les 4 au nominatif dans les phrases précédentes. Allons maintenant étudier leur transformation lorsqu’ils deviennent complément d’objet direct.

Accusatif en islandais : L’accusatif répond à la question « qui, quoi? ». Voici 4 exemples avec les mots « islandais - íslensku », « français - franska », « mon ami - vinur minn » et « mon père - faðir minn » et que nous venons de voir dans leur forme nominative. A la forme accusative, voici les mêmes mots :

  1. Ég tala íslensku – je parle islandais.

  2. Ég tala frönsku – je parle français

  3. Ég heimsæki vinkonu mína - je visite mon ami

  4. Ég heimsæki föður minn - je visite mon père.

 

Datif en islandais : La datif est la fonction complément d’objet indirect et répond à la question « à qui, à quoi ». Pour bien apprécier le changement de forme au datif, il faut le comparer avec les mêmes mots islandais dans leur forme nominative. Voici donc les phrases suivantes :

  1. Vinur minn er mjög góður. - Mon ami est très gentil. (au nominatif : vinur minn)

  2. Faðir minn er mjög góður. - Mon père est très gentil. (au nominatif : faðir minn)

  3. Ég tala við vinkonu mína. - Je parle à mon ami. (au datif : við vinkonu mína)

  4. Ég tala við föður minn. - Je parle à mon père. (au datif : við föður minn)

Génitif en islandais : le cas génitif est, dans toutes les langues qui l’utilisent, celui du complément du nom. Il marque la possession et est généralement précédé du mot  « de » en français. Pour mieux comprendre le cas génitif et la transformation qu’il fait subir aux noms islandais, voici deux exemples avec des mots vus précédemment : Vinur minn – mon ami et Faðir minn – mon père.

Faðir vinkonu minnar er mjög góður. – Le père de mon ami est très gentil

Vinur föður míns er mjög góður. – L’ami de mon père est très gentil

Le genre en islandais : Que se soit pour les noms ou pour les adjectifs, ils peuvent soit être masculin, féminin ou neutre. Par contre, aucune règle ne permet d’établir si un mot est masculin, féminin ou neutre. Néanmoins, les noms masculins en islandais se terminent souvent par –ur, - r, -i, -ll ou –nn. Les noms féminins quant à eux verront souvent apparaître un –a, -ing ou un –un en fin de mot. Les noms neutres n’ont pas de terminaison définie et la dernière voyelle est généralement accentuée. Voici quelques exemples de mots islandais.

Faðir – père                       Eiginmaður – mari

Sonur – fils                        Stelpa – fille

Afi – grand-père

Quelques trucs pour vous aider à déterminer le genre d’un mot (substantif) en islandais :

  • De façon générale, en islandais, les mots masculins et féminins désignent souvent des hommes et des femmes

  • En islandais, les substantifs neutres désignent normalement des personnes ou des groupes non-genrés (ex : les enfants, les célibataires, etc).

  • En islandais, un mot au nominatif se terminant par -ur est presque toujours de genre masculin.

  • En islandais, un mot au nominatif se terminant par -a est très souvent féminin (les neutres en -a sont peu nombreux)

  • Un mot qui se termine en –i est soit masculin ou neutre. Il n’est jamais féminin.

Notez néanmoins que des exceptions peuvent survenir. Des mots comme brúður (épouse) se terminant avec une finale normalement utilisée par des mots masculins (-ur) est pourtant féminin.

Les articles en islandais : en islandais, les noms sont soit définis ou indéfinis. L’islandais ne possède pas comme en français, d’article indéfini comme (un, une, de, des). Pour ce qui est des articles définis, ils sont apposés à la fin du mot. Ainsi, « drengur - un garçon » deviendra « drengurinn - le garçon ». Le mot neutre « barn – enfant » se transformera en « barið – l’enfant ». Voici d’autres exemple d’articles en islandais :

travail – vinna                                    le travail - verkið

livre – bók                                           le livre – bókinni

professeur – prófessor                 le professeur – prófessorinn

pays – landi                                        le pays – landinu

ville – borg                                          la ville - borgina

Les pronoms personnels en islandais  : Les mêmes pronoms personnels français existent en islandais. A cela, il faut néanmoins ajouter le « ils - Þau » pour désigner les choses neutres.

Je - Ég

Tu – Þú

Il - Hann 

Elle – Hún

Celà – Það

Nous – Við

Vous - Þið

Ils – Þeir

Elles - Þær

Ils (neutre) - Þau  

Les verbes islandais  : La conjugaison islandaise fait la distinction entre les verbes forts et les verbes faibles. Les verbes islandais sont toujours conjugués en fonction du temps, du mode, de la personne, du nombre et de la voie. En ce qui concerne la voie, l’islandais en possède trois : la voie active, passive et moyenne (ou médial). Les modes en islandais sont similaires au français qui comprend l’indicatif, l’impératif, le conditionnel et le subjonctif. Les temps islandais sont moins compliqués qu’en français puisqu’on n’en considère que deux : le présent et le passé simple. Tous les autres sont construits à l’aide d’auxiliaire.

La négation en islandais  : En islandais, si vous souhaitez former une phrase à sa forme négative, il suffit de place "ekki" après le verbe. Voici quelques exemples de phrases négatives en islandais :

  1. Ég læri ekki íslensku með kennara. - Je n'apprends pas l'islandais avec un professeur.

  2. Þú skilur ekki íslensku. - Tu ne comprends pas l'islandais.

  3. Ég fer ekki til Reykjavíkur á morgun. - Je ne vais pas à Reykjavik demain.

  4. Við vinnum ekki saman. - Nous ne travaillons pas ensemble.

L’ordre des mots en islandais  : L’ordre des mots en islandais est généralement celui qui prévaut également dans la plupart des autres langues européennes. L’islandais est donc, comme le français, de type SVO (sujet-verbe-objet) mais le caractère hautement flexionnel de l’islandais lui permet de changer cet ordre pour des raisons poétiques ou de style. Voici quelques exemples de phrases islandaises. Notez l’ordre des mots, très similaire au français :

  1. Ég læri íslensku á hverjum degi með kennara.

J’apprends l’islandais chaque jour avec un professeur.

 (sujet + verb + complément circonstanciel de temps + objet)

  1. Þú ferð í skólann. - Tu vas à l'école.

  2. Þú ferð í skólann í dag. - Tu vas à l'école aujourd'hui.

  3. Við lærðum íslensku málfræði. – Nous avons appris la grammaire islandaise.

Pour les adjectifs islandais maintenant, lisez les exemples suivants pour mieux comprendre l’ordre déterminant –déterminé en islandais.

  1. un livre intéressant - fróðleg bók

  2. un gentil professeur - ágætur kennari

  3. un cours audio d'islandais - íslenskt hljóðnámskeið

  4. une région dangeureuse - hættulegt svæði

  5. un parc national islandais - íslenskur þjóðgarður

  6. un cours d'islandais passionnant - spennandi íslenskunámskeið

  7. un petit village - lítið þorp

  8. une grande ville - stór borg

  9. un volcan actif - virkt eldfjall

  10. un geyser imprévisible - óútreiknanlegur geysir

Cours audio d'islandais
Cours audio d'islandais - Leçon #1 gratuite
00:00 / 00:00