Learn Arabic Middle East

Download Levantine Arabic audio course (simple English course)

Where do we speak Middle Eastern Arabic?

- Syria - Lebanon

- Palestine - Jordan - Iraq

- Saudi Arabia - Sinai Peninsula

Are you going on a trip to Lebanon, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Palestine or Syria (despite the sad events of recent years)? or do you receive Syrian refugees in your community? What better way to enjoy these magnificent little-known countries than to speak Arabic in its dialect form.

 

Knowledge of the Arabic language of the Middle East makes all the difference between a simply pleasant trip and a rewarding and unforgettable experience. This Middle Eastern Arabic course is perfect for anyone looking for authenticity with the culture they plan to experience.

Middle East Arabic (english course) - Lesson #1
00:00 / 00:00

67 English Audio Lessons to Learn Middle Eastern Dialect

Even if you are not traveling to a country in the Middle East, knowing Arabic will allow you to meet the many newcomers from this region of the world.

Whether it is for a deep knowledge of Middle Eastern Arabic to make a humanitarian trip to a refugee camps in Lebanon (ex: Aïn el Helwé) where we speak Palestinian Arabic or a simple 10 lessons before leaving for a short stay in the Jordanian desert, learning Middle Eastern Arabic for travel is a must.

Learn Arabic to be able to be more independent during your next stay in Jordan, Syria (area to be avoided in 2019), Iraq or Lebanon.

What is Middle Eastern Arabic?

There are generally 3 types of Arabic language. Classical Arabic is that used in the Holy Quran and is the language standard in all Arabic-speaking countries (22 countries in total). Maghreb Arabic is a different dialect (Morocco, Tunisia and Algeria). Finally, Middle Eastern Arabic offers students the chance to discuss in the language used daily in Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine and Iraq. Arabic (in all its forms) is spoken by more than 200 million people. This Arabic language course is specially oriented for those wishing to learn the Middle Eastern dialect (Levantine dialect). A fascinating foray into the language of the Thousand and One Nights Tales. We also have an Algerian Arabic audio course available.

Grammar of Levantine Arabic

Levantine Arabic in its Lebanese, Syrian, Palestinian and Jordanian forms belongs to the subcategory of Eastern dialects. It is also known as Levantine Arabic. The difference between each of its forms is more the result of regionalism and accent. In the sense of structure, the Arabic language is similar in these 4 regions.

 

The gender of names in Arabic

 

Arabic has the feminine and the masculine. Although some words will have a special mark (normally - é ) to demonstrate the masculine "kalb - dog" or feminine "kalbé - a bitch", some other words do not have it " sétt - dame", "émm - mother".

Some masculine words may appear feminine because of the stress placed at the beginning of the word, which causes the last vowel of the word to be pronounced abruptly. We end up with words like " hawa - vent", " acha - dinner", "ghada - lunch" or "dawa - medicine".

Singular and plural in Arabic

Arabic has this particularity of having, as in French, the singular and the plural. To this is added another number: the duel. In Levantine Arabic, the addition of - ên often marks the dual character of a word, both masculine and feminine.

The duel in Levantine Arabic

​​

"kalb - a dog" " kalbé - a bitch"

"kalb-ên - two dogs" "kalbt-ên - two dogs (female)"

For the sake of pronunciation, some words may change slightly. So the word "bénét - a girl" will become  "bént-ên".

 

The plural in Levantine Arabic

The suffixes to form the plural in Eastern Arabic are numerous. To name but a few: “- ât , - ê , -în, - îyyé ”. We can therefore distinguish between "lébnêné - a Lebanese” and "lébnêniyy - of the Lebanese". In the same way with the suffix - în , we can distinguish between "él msêfér - the traveler" and " él msêfrîn - the travelers".

Some Arabic words, on the other hand, insert the plural mark inside their structure. Thus, we will see "kalb - a dog", "klêb - dogs" or even "ktêb - a book" which becomes "ketob - books".

Borrowing from foreign languages ​​is also subject to the same nominal inflection rules. Thus the word "kompyûter - one computer" becomes "kompyûtrên - two computers" and "kompûtrât - computers".

Defined vs undefined in Levantine Arabic

Arabic, whether classical or dialectal, does not know of indefinite articles as in French. The definite article is “ el ” and is always invariable (in number and in kind). The absence of this article implies indefiniteness.

Personal pronouns in Arabic

Personal pronouns in Arabic can either be said in isolation or placed as a suffix at the end of a verb. In isolation, the pronouns are:

ana - I

enta - you (mas.)

enté - you (fem.)

huwé - he

hiyyé - she

neh'na - we

ento - you (plural)

hénné - they

In the form of suffixes, they are found this way:

I - é / - * -né ** (in COI position)

you (mas.) - ak / -k *

you (fem.) - ik / - *

it - o / -h *

she -a / -ha *

We -h

you -kon

they, they -on

Apprendre l'arabe Moyen-Orient

Cours audio d'arabe levantin à télécharger (cours en anglais simple)

Où parle-t-on l'arabe du Moyen-Orient?

- Syrie

- Liban

- Palestine

- Jordanie

- Irak

- Arabie Saoudite

- Péninsule du Sinaï

Vous partez en voyage au Liban, en Irak, en Arabie-Saoudite, en Jordanie, en Palestine ou en Syrie (malgré les tristes évènements des dernières années)? ou vous recevez des réfugiés Syriens dans votre communauté? Quoi de mieux pour profiter de ces magnifiques pays méconnus que de parler l’arabe dans sa forme dialectale.

 

La connaissance de la langue arabe du Moyen-Orient fait toute la différence entre un voyage simplement agréable et une expérience enrichissante et inoubliable. Ce cours d’arabe du Moyen-Orient est parfait pour tous ceux qui sont à la recherche d’authenticité avec la culture qu’ils comptent découvrir.

Middle East Arabic (english course) - Lesson #1
00:00 / 00:00

67 Leçons audio en anglais pour apprendre le dialecte du Moyen-Orient

Même si vous ne voyagez pas dans un pays du Moyen-Orient, la connaissance de l’arabe vous permettra de faire des rencontres avec les nombreux arrivants de cette région du monde.

 

Que se soit pour une connaissance profonde de l’arabe du Moyen-Orient pour faire un voyage humanitaire dans un camps de réfugiés au Liban (ex: Aïn el Helwé) où on parle l’arabe palestinien ou encore un simple 10 cours avant de partir pour un court séjour dans le désert jordanien, l’apprentissage de l’arabe du Moyen-Orient pour le voyage est un incontournable.

 

Apprenez l’arabe pour pouvoir être plus autonome lors de votre prochain séjour en Jordanie, en Syrie (zone à éviter en 2019), en Irak ou au Liban.

Qu’est-ce-que l’arabe du Moyen-Orient?

On distingue généralement 3 types de « langue » arabe. L’arabe classique est celui utilisé dans le Saint-Coran et constitue la norme linguistique dans tous les pays arabophones (22 pays au total). L’arabe du Maghreb est un dialecte différent (Maroc, Tunisie et Algérie). Enfin, l’arabe du Moyen-Orient, offre la chance aux étudiants de pouvoir discuter dans la langue utilisée au quotidien en Syrie, en Jordanie, au Liban, en Palestine et en Irak. L’arabe (sous toutes ses formes) est parlé par plus de 200 millions d’individus. Ce cours de langue arabe est spécialement orienté pour ceux désirant apprendre le dialecte du Moyen-Orient (Levantine dialect). Une incursion fascinante dans la langue des contes des mille et une nuit. Nous avons également un cours audio d'arabe algérien disponible.

Grammaire de l'arabe levantin

L’arabe levantin dans sa forme libanaise, syrienne, palestinienne et jordanienne, appartient à la sous-catégorie des dialectes orientaux. On le connaît aussi sous l’appellation d’arabe levantin. La différence entre chacune de ses formes est davantage le fruit de régionalisme et d’accent. Au sens de la structure, la langue arabe est similaire dans ces 4 régions.

 

Le genre des noms en arabe

 

L’arabe possède le féminin et le masculin. Bien que certains mots auront une marque spéciale (normalement –é) pour démontrer le caractère masculin « kalb – chien » ou féminin « kalbé - une chienne », certains autres mots ne la porte pas « sétt – dame », « 'émm – mère ».

 

Certains mots masculins peuvent sembler féminins à cause de l’accent tonique placé en début de mot, ce qui fait prononcer abruptement la dernière voyelle du mot. On se retrouve avec des mots comme « hawa - vent », « acha – dîner », « ghada – déjeuner » ou « dawa – médicament ».

 

Le singulier et le pluriel en arabe

 

L’arabe possède cette particularité d’avoir comme en français, le singulier et le pluriel. À celà s’ajoute un autre nombre : le duel. En arabe levantin, l’ajout de – ên marque souvent le caractère duel d’un mot, tant au niveau du masculin que du féminin.

 

Le duel en arabe levantin

« kalb - un chien »                « kalbé - une chienne » 

« kalb-ên - deux chiens »      « kalbt-ên - deux chiennes »

 

Par souci de prononciation, certains mots peuvent se transformer légèrement. Ainsi le mot « bénét – une fille » deviendra « bént-ên ».

Le pluriel en arabe levantin

 

Les suffixes pour former le pluriel en arabe oriental sont nombreux. Pour n’en citer que quelques-uns : « -ât, -ê, -în, -îyyé ».On pourra donc faire la distinction entre « lébnêné - un Libanais » et « lébnêniyyé - des Libanais ». De la même façon avec le suffixe –în, on pourra faire la distinction entre « él msêfér - le voyageur » et « él msêfrîn - les voyageurs ».

 

Certains mots arabe par contre, insèrent la marque du pluriel à l’intérieur de leur structure. Ainsi, on verra « kalb - un chien », « klêb - des chiens » ou encore « ktêb - un livre » qui devient « kétob - des livres ».

 

Les emprunts aux langues étrangères sont également soumis aux même règles de flexions nominales. Ainsi le mot « kompyûter – un ordinateur » devient « kompyûtrên - deux ordinateurs » et « kompûtrât - des ordinateurs ».

 

Défini vs indéfini en arabe levantin

L’arabe, qu’il soit classique ou dialectal ne connait pas d’articles indéfinis comme en français. L’article défini quant à lui est « el » et est toujours invariable (en nombre et en genre). L’absence de cet article implique l’indéfinition.

 

Les pronoms personnels en arabe

 

Les pronoms personnels en arabe peuvent soit être dit de façon isolée ou placés comme suffixe en fin de verbe. De façon isolée, les pronoms sont :

ana         je

énta        tu (mas.)

énté        tu (fém.)

huwé      il

hiyyé      elle

néh’na   nous

énto        vous

hénné     ils,elles

Sous la forme de suffixes, on les retrouve de cette façon :

 

je                 - é/-* -né ** (en position de COI)

tu (mas.)      - ak/-k*

tu (fém.)      - ik/-ké *

il                  -o/-h*

elle              -a/-ha *

nous            -na

vous            -kon

ils, elles       -on