Georgian language

100% audio Georgian course - 37 lessons in English

Cours de langue géorgienne

Georgian is the official language of the Republic of Georgia, in the central Caucasus. A language of 4 million speakers (83% of the population), it is also spoken by 500,000 Georgians abroad. Georgian belongs to the Caucasian language family (polyphyletic), a branch of Kartvelian languages. Georgian grammar is very special,

Cours 100% audio de langue géorgienne

Georgian course - Lesson #1 - @ Copyright
00:00 / 00:00

In Georgian, adjectives precede nouns, possessives precede possessions, objects precede verbs and postpositions replace prepositions. The word order is quite free due to the presence of declensions. There is no grammatical genre and no articles. Georgian has been written with a variety of alphabets but the most common is Mkhedruli. Literature began in the 4th century with the country's conversion to Christianity.

Kartvelian language is spoken by more than 5 million speakers and having an unusual alphabet (33 letters including 28 consonants and 5 vowels), Georgians are proud of their culture and tradition. The Georgian language has a declension with 7 cases. Learning Georgian will immerse you in an exciting world and allow you unforgettable encounters during your trip to Georgia .

Georgian grammar

The grammar of the Georgian language holds surprises for French-speaking speakers. Like all Caucasian languages, it is probably the verbal system that poses the greatest challenge to foreign audiences. As in many other languages, we use postpositions instead of prepositions. Just like some African languages, Georgian distinguishes three kinds of demonstrative: close to the person speaking, close to the person to whom one is speaking, and far from the two interlocutors. There are also three types of negations in the Georgian language.

Names in Georgian

 

The Georgian language has no articles (both well-defined and undefined). The Georgian language distinguishes between animate and inanimate beings. On the other hand, animate beings only concern human beings such as "policeman, teacher, student, director, etc." while all other names are considered "inanimate". Even animals or plants are classified in the inanimate category. This distinction between living and non-living is believed to date back to a pre-Catholic worldview.

 

The Georgian name has a stem and it is terminated in connection with its function in the sentence. In other words, Georgian is a case language like Russian, German or Latin.

Georgian cases

The Georgian language has 7 cases: nominative, narrative, dative, genitive, ablative, circumstantial and vocative.

- nominative : (ending in i) subject case. This in the form that Georgian words are found in the dictionary.

- narrative : (ending in -ma) The narrative is also used for the subject of the verb but with particular verbal tenses.

- dative : (ending in -s): The dative is the case of the indirect object complement. It usually answers the question "to whom?" "Or" to what? ". In the sentence "I am talking to my sister", the word "sister" should be put in the dative.

- genitive : (ending in -is): the genitive is the complement case of the name (of belonging).

- instrumental : (ending in -it): the instrumental marks the accompaniment and has the meaning of "with".

- adverbial : (ending in -ad). The adverbial case makes it possible to express the way of being or of acting. We will say "He worked as a translator from Georgian".

- vocative : (ending in -o). The vocative exists in certain languages ​​like Serbian and is used to call out someone like in French “Vinçent! ".

Verbs in Georgian

 

The verbal system is very strange and complex. Certain peculiarities make one think of Russian, such as the system of prefixes to distinguish the perfective verbs (those whose action is accomplished or completed) and imperfectives (whose action is in court or continues). These prefixes indicate, if necessary, the direction of the movement of the action, from top to bottom, towards the speaker, moving away etc ...

The most curious is what is called the pluripersonal character of the Georgian verb. Unlike French where the conjugation of verbs depends on the single subject. (I sing, we sing…). Georgian, like Basque moreover, has a more complex conjugation in which the subject and the complement intervene.

Conjugation of verbs

 

Here are some things to keep in mind as you begin to learn Georgian conjugations and verbs.

˃ The Georgian verbal system is one of the most complex in the world. It is nevertheless useful to know that it is very regular. Indeed the logic of Georgian conjugation constitutes a real challenge for foreigners. and mastering it requires attention and time.

 

˃ Persons in Georgian: verbs are conjugated according to the person (1st, 2nd or 3rd), as well as the number (singular or plural), just like in French.

 

˃ The Georgian language knows like all languages ​​(present, past or future) and modes (indicative: subjunctive: imperative).

 

˃ Georgian verbs of movement, like their Russian counterparts, can have two distinct forms depending on whether the movement is expressed in the absolute ("the child walks", that is to say he can walk) or in a precise direction (the child walks towards the garden ").

˃ Each Georgian verb has two forms (as in Russian): perfective and imperfective verbal form: The choice of the correct verbal form is made according to whether or not the action has been accomplished. In other words, if the action is in progress or if it has been completed. Normally, the present tenses and the imperfect use the imperfective while the future tenses, the perfect, the conditional and the imperative use the perfective.

 

˃ Movement prefixes in Georgian: this prefix indicates in which direction the action takes place: towards the subject, away from the subject, up and down or vice versa, etc. the Georgian language has about 15 prefixes. These same prefixes are used to create the perfective form of the Georgian verb. These same prefixes are used to form the perfective.

 

˃ The pluripersonal character of Georgian verbs: this is undoubtedly the most confusing aspect of Georgian conjugation. In almost all the languages ​​of the world, the verb is conjugated in connection with the subject of the sentence (ex: I speak Georgian, we speak Georgian). In Georgian, the verb can also change in connection with the complement that follows the verb. In other words, it takes into account the direct complement or the indirect complement. The Georgian verb can therefore be mono-personal (in the case where the subject alone is expressed), bi-personal or tripersonal (in the case where one or two complements of the verb intervene).

 

˃ Pluri-personal expression in Georgian: the process used to express the pluri-personal character of the verb is the “version”. Indeed, it suffices to affix a prefix to a vowel in front of the stem of the verb and this makes it possible to demonstrate whether the action is made for the benefit of the first, the second or the third person, or if it does not. is made for the benefit of no one.

 

˃ Certain verbal nuances, such as uncertainty or the “we say that…” in French are translated into the Georgian language by particular verbal forms.

 

˃ Most Georgian verbs are constant and are regular. There are a few that are irregular.

 

˃A verb like "to speak" can therefore be translated in several ways depending on its pluripersonal character and its version.

 

Conjugation of the verb "to be" in Georgian

 

The verb "to be" in the present tense in Georgian.

As in French and several other languages, the verb "to be is irregular". We also note that, in most languages, the more irregular verbs are often the most used.

me var = I am

shen khar = you are

is aris = he / she is

tchven vart = we are

tkven khart = you are

isini arian = they are

 

The verb "to be" in the past tense in Georgian

 

The verb "to be" does not distinguish between the past simple and the imperfect. Thus the "me vikavi" means as much "I was" as I was "

 

me viKavi = I was

shen iKavi = you were

is iKo = he / she was

tchven viKavit = we were

tkven iKavit = you were

isini iKkvnen = they were

The verb "to be" in the future in Georgian

me viknebi = I will be

shen iknebi = you will be

is ikneba = he / she will be

tchven viknebit = we will be

tkven iknebit = you will be

isini iknebian = they will be

 

Conjugation of the verb "to have" in Georgian

 

We have seen that the Georgian language distinguishes between animate beings (essentially human beings) and inanimate things (things, animals, plants, etc.). The Georgian verb "to have" therefore has two forms depending on whether it accompanies a human thing (being animated) or a non-human thing (which the Georgian language considers inanimate). Let's take a look at the form "cola" which accompanies animated beings as in the sentence "I have a Georgian teacher".

 

The verb "to have" in the present tense in Georgian (to be animated).

me mKav

shen gKavs

mas hKavs

tchven gvKavs

tkven gKavt

mat hKavt

 

The verb "to have" in the Georgian past tense (to be animated)

me mKavda

shen gK.avda

mas hKavda

tchven gvKavda

tkven gKavdat

mat hKavdat

 

The verb "to have" in the future in Georgian (to be animated)

me meKoleba

shen geKoleba

mas eKoleba

tchven gveKoleba

tkven geKolebat

mat eKolebat

La langue géorgienne

Cours 100% audio de géorgien - 37 leçons en anglais

Le géorgien est la langue officielle de la République de Géorgie, au centre du Caucase. Langue de 4 millions de locuteurs (83% de la population), elle est parlée aussi par 500 000 Géorgiens à l’étranger. Le géorgien appartient à la famille des langues caucasiennes (polyphylétique), branche des langues kartvéliennes. La grammaire géorgienne est très particulière,

Cours 100% audio de langue géorgienne

Georgian course - Lesson #1 - @ Copyright
00:00 / 00:00

En géorgien, les adjectifs précèdent les noms, les possessifs précèdent les possessions, les objets précèdent les verbes et des postpositions remplacent des prépositions. L’ordre des mots est assez libre dû à la présence de déclinaisons. Il n’existe pas de genre grammatical et ni d’articles. Le géorgien a été écrit avec une variété d’alphabets mais le plus courant est le mkhedruli. La littérature a commencé au 4ème siècle avec la conversion du pays au christianisme.

Langue kartvélienne est parlée par plus de 5 millions de locuteurs et possédant un alphabet inusité (33 lettres dont 28 consonnes et 5 voyelles), les Géorgiens sont fiers de leur culture et de leur tradition. La langue géorgienne possède une déclinaison possédant 7 cas. L’apprentissage du géorgien vous fera plonger dans un univers enlevant et vous permettra des rencontres inoubliables lors de votre voyage en Géorgie.

Grammaire du géorgien

La grammaire de la langue géorgienne réserve des surprises aux locuteurs francophones. Comme toutes les langues du Caucase, c’est probablement le système verbal qui pose le plus grand défi au public étranger. Comme dans bien d’autres langues, on emploie des postpositions au lieu de prépositions. Tout le fait certaines langues africaines, le géorgien distingue trois sortes de démonstratif: proche de la personne qui parle, proche de la personne à qui l’on parle, et loin des deux interlocuteurs. Il existe également trois types de négations en langue géorgienne.

Les noms en géorgien

 

La langue géorgienne ne possède pas d’articles (aussi bien défini qu’indéfini). La langue géorgienne fait la distinction entre les êtres animés et inanimés. Par contre, les êtres animés ne concernent que les êtres humains comme « policier, professeur, étudiant, directrice, etc » alors que tous les autres noms sont considérés « inanimés ». Même les animaux ou plantes sont classés dans la catégorie inanimée. On croit que cette distinction entre vivant et non-vivant remonte à une vision du monde pré-catholique.

 

Le nom géorgien possède un radical et on lui appose une terminaison en lien avec sa fonction dans la phrase. En d’autres mots, le géorgien est une langue à cas comme l’est le russe, l’allemand ou le latin.

Les cas en géorgien

La langue géorgienne a 7 cas: nominative, narrative, datif, génitif, ablatif, circonstanciel et vocatif.

- nominatif : (terminaison en i) cas sujet. Cette dans forme que les mots géorgiens sont retrouvés dans le dictionnaire.

- narratif : (terminaison en -ma) On utilise le narratif également pour les sujet du verbe mais avec des temps verbaux particuliers.

- datif : (terminaison en -s) : Le datif est le cas du complément d’objet indirect. Il répond généralement à la question « à qui? » ou « à quoi ? ». Dans la phrase « je parle à ma sœur », le mot « sœur » devra être mis au datif.

- génitif : (terminaison en -is) : le génitif est le cas complément du nom (d’appartenance).

- instrumental : (terminaison en -it) : l’instrumentale marque l’accompagnement et possède le sens de « avec ».

- adverbial : (terminaison en -ad). Le cas adverbial permet d’exprimer la manière d’être ou d’agir. On dira « Il travaill comme traducteur de géorgien ».

- vocatif : (terminaison en -o). Le vocatif existe dans certaine langue comme le serbe et sert à interpeller quelqu’un comme en français « Vinçent! ».

Les verbes en géorgien

 

Le système verbal est très étrange et complexe. Certaines particularité font penser au russe, telles que le système de préfixes pour distinguer les verbes perfectifs (ceux dont l’action est accomplie ou achevée) et des imperfectifs (dont l’action est en cour ou se prolonge). Ces préfixes indiquent s’il y a lieu, le sens du mouvement de l’action, de haut en bas, vers celui qui parle, en s’éloignant etc…

Le plus curieux est ce qu’on appelle le caractère pluripersonnel du verbe géorgien. Contrairement au français où la conjugaison des verbes dépend du seul sujet. (Je chante, nous chantons…). Le géorgien comme le basque d’ailleurs, a une conjugaison plus complexe où interviennent le sujet et le complément.

Conjugaison des verbes

 

Voici quelques aspects à garder en tête en débutant l’apprentissage des conjugaisons et des verbes géorgiens.

˃ Le système verbal géorgien est l'un des plus complexes qui soit dans le monde. Il est néanmoins utile de savoir qu’il est très régulier. En effet la logique de la conjugaison géorgienne constitue un vrai défi pour les étrangers. et sa maîtrise demande de l'attention et du temps.

 

˃ Les personnes en géorgien : les verbes se conjuguent en fonction de la personne (1ère, 2e ou 3e), ainsi que le nombre (singulier ou pluriel), tout comme en français.

 

˃ La langue géorgienne connait comme toutes les langues (présent, passé ou futur) et les modes (indicatif: subjonctif: impératif).

 

˃ Les verbes géorgiens de mouvement, comme leurs équivalents russe peuvent avoir deux formes distinctes selon que le mouvement est exprimé dans l'absolu ("l’enfant marche", c'est-à-dire qu'il peut marcher) ou dans un sens précis (l’enfant marche vers le jardin").

˃ Chaque verbe géorgien possède deux formes (comme en russe) : forme verbale perfective et imperfective : Le choix de la bonne forme verbale se fait en fonction du caractère accompli ou non de l'action. En d’autres mots, si l’action est en cours ou si elle est achevée. Normalement, les temps présent et l'imparfait emploient l'imperfectif tandis que les temps futur, le parfait, le conditionnel et l'impératif emploient le perfectif.

 

˃ Préfixes de mouvement en géorgien : ce préfixe indique dans quel sens se déroule l'action: vers le sujet, en s'éloignant du sujet, de haut en bas ou inversement, etc. la langue géorgienne possède environ 15 préfixes. On utilise ces mêmes préfixes pour créer la forme perfective du verbe géorgien. Ce sont ces même préfixes qui sont employés pour former le perfectif.

 

˃ Le caractère pluripersonnel des verbes géorgiens : il s’agit sans contredits de l’aspect le plus déroutant de la conjugaison géorgienne. Dans à peu près toutes les langues du monde, le verbe se conjugue en lien avec le sujet de la phrase (ex : je parle géorgien, nous parlons géorgien). En géorgien, le verbe peut également changer en lien avec le complément qui suit le verbe. En d’autres mots, il tient compte du complément direct ou du complément indirect. Le verbe géorgien peut donc être mono-personnel (dans le cas où le sujet seul est exprimé), bi-personnel ou tripersonnel (cas où interviennent un ou deux compléments du verbe).

 

˃ Expression du pluri-personnel en géorgien : le procédé utilisé pour exprimer le caractère pluri-personnel du verbe est la « version ». En effet, il suffit d’apposer un préfixe à une voyelle devant le radical du verbe et ceci permet de démontrer si l'action est faite au profit de la première, de la deuxième ou de la troisième personne, ou encore si elle n'est faite au profit de personne.

 

˃ Certaines nuances verbales, comme l'incertitude ou le « on dit que… » en français se traduisent en langue géorgienne par des formes verbales particulières.

 

˃ La plupart des verbes géorgiens sont constants et sont réguliers. Il en existe quelques-uns qui sont irréguliers.

 

˃Un verbe comme « parler » pourra donc être traduit de plusieurs façons selon son caractère pluripersonnel et sa version.

 

Conjugaison du verbe « être » en géorgien

 

Le verbe « être » au présent en géorgien.

Comme en français et plusieurs autres langues, le verbe « être est irrégulier ». On remarque d’ailleurs que, dans la plupart des langues, les verbes plus irréguliers sont souvent les plus utilisés.

me var = je suis

shen khar = tu es

is aris = il / elle est

tchven vart = nous sommes

tkven khart = vous êtes

isini arian = ils / elles sont

 

Le verbe « être » au passé en géorgien

 

Le verbe « être » ne fait pas la distinction entre le passé simple et l’imparfait. Ainsi le « me vikavi » signifie autant « je fus » que j’étais »

 

me viKavi = j’étais

shen iKavi = tu étais

is iKo = il / elle était

tchven viKavit = nous étions

tkven iKavit = vous étiez

isini iKkvnen = ils étaient

Le verbe « être » au futur en géorgien

me viknebi = je serai

shen iknebi = tu seras

is ikneba = il / elle sera

tchven viknebit = nous serons

tkven iknebit = vous serez

isini iknebian = ils seront

 

Conjugaison du verbe « avoir » en géorgien

 

Nous avons vu que la langue géorgienne fait la distinction entre être animés (essentielelment humains) et les choses inanimés (choses, animeaux, plante, etc). Le verbe géorgien « avoir » possède donc deux formes selon qu’il accompagne une chose humaine (être animé) ou une chose non-humaine (que la langue géorgienne considère inanimée). Allons voir la forme « kola » qui accompagne des êtres animés comme dans la phrase « J’ai un professeur de géorgien ».

 

Le verbe « avoir » au présent en géorgien (être animé).

me mKav

shen gKavs

mas hKavs

tchven gvKavs

tkven gKavt

mat hKavt

 

Le verbe « avoir » au passé en géorgien (être animé)

me mKavda

shen gK.avda

mas hKavda

tchven gvKavda

tkven gKavdat

mat hKavdat

 

Le verbe « avoir » au futur en géorgien (être animé)

me meKoleba

shen geKoleba

mas eKoleba

tchven gveKoleba

tkven geKolebat

mat eKolebat