Italian language

Audio course in Italian and grammar

By its common origin with French and Spanish, the Italian language has a grammar very similar to these two Latin languages. There are invariable words in Italian such as articles, substantives, adjectives, pronouns and verbs. But as in French we also find words which are invariable: adverbs, prepositions, conjunctions and interjections. The word order in Italian is similar to French.

History of the Italian language

The origin of Italian dates back to the birth of Latin around 1400 BC. At that time, Latin existed in two forms; Latin called "vulgar" (spoken or popular Latin) spoken by the peasant class and that called "illustrated" (classical Latin) spoken by the elites, often used in the drafting of literary, scientific or religious texts. However, the "vulgar" form under the influence of several factors of the Etruscans, Osco-Umbrians, Gauls and Greeks underwent some transformations on several levels (syntactic, phonetic and linguistic) which favored the birth of several dialects throughout Italian territory.

Like many countries, Italy was not a unified state at the start of its history. It was a vast territory subdivided into independent regions. Each province had its own dialect, but it was Tuscan that became the vehicular and official language of the national territory.

The language of Florence: It was around the 9th and 10th centuries that writings in "vulgar" language began to appear. Thus in the 13th century, the language spoken in Florence began to be used by writers and notaries. Florence being a large city, its geographical and economic position favored the development of the arts. The demand for a language capable of uniting Italy began to be felt.

Between 1303 and 1305, the main dialects were identified to see which would be the most suitable and the most worthy of becoming the literary language. This language should be illustrious by its literary, cardinal tradition, because it would be the fixed point around which all dialects should revolve, noble and solemn, because it should be worthy of being used in high places such as at court or in courts. According to research, Tuscan met all of these criteria. In 1861, when the Kingdom of Italy was proclaimed, Tuscan was chosen as the unifying language. Italy being a multilingual country, has several vernacular languages ​​such as: Piedmontese, Neapolitan, Sicilian, Venetian, Lombard, Sardinian, Emilian-Romagna, Friulian ...

Italian grammar

Learning a language often begins with its alphabet, with French and Italian being sister languages ​​(derived from Latin). Italian grammar has a lot of similarity with French grammar and that of Spanish as well as vocabulary. Italian is a Romance language, belonging to the same linguistic family as French and Spanish. However, the Italian alphabet contains 21 letters (16 consonants and 5 vowels) unlike that of French.

A = a; B = bi; C = ci; D = di; E = e; F = effe; G = gi; H = acca; I = i; L = her; M = ms; N = enne; O = o; P = pi; Q = qu; R = wanders; S = esse; T = ti; U = or; V = vi and Z = zeta.

The vowels in Italian are naturally: A, E, I, O, U.

Italian is a very phonetic language, meaning that words are pronounced as they are written. To go faster, here are some basics:

The vowels A, I, and O in front of the letter "C" and "G" are pronounced exactly as in French;

Ex: Ca = ka, Co = ko, Cu = kou; Ga = gua, Go = guo, Gu = guou, but Ci / Ce = tch, SCi / SCe = ch, Chi / Che = qu; Gi / Ge = dje, Ghi / Ghe = gui / gue and Gli = yi.

The letter "Q" is invariably followed by a "U" as in French and gives the sound "neck". As for the letter "Z", it gives the sound "tz" like the word "pizza" which is pronounced "pitza"

The composition of words in Italian

In Italian, most words end in a vowel "a" feminine, "o" in the masculine and "i" in the plural. Italian words can be distinguished into nine (9) categories; on the one hand the variables: articles, nouns, adjectives, pronouns, verbs and on the other hand the invariable words such as adverbs, prepositions, conjunctions and interjections.

The article in Italian

In the masculine singular, the definite article “ he ” is used when the word it precedes begins with a consonant and “ lo ” is used before words starting with a vowel or in the case of so-called impure consonants ( ps, pn, gn, x, z).

For the masculine plural, the letter “ I ” is used for consonants and “ gli ” is used before impure or vowel consonants.

In the feminine singular, we use “ la ” before a consonant and “ l ” before a vowel, but in the feminine plural it is “ the ” which is usual in all cases.

In addition, indefinite articles also have their instructions for use. In the masculine singular, we use "un" in a general way and "uno" before words beginning with an impure consonant or a vowel, but in the feminine singular "una" is used before a consonant and "un" before words beginning with a vowel. However, it should be noted that there is no indefinite plural as such, but we often use the masculine partitive "degli" or the feminine "delle", or sometimes the indefinite ones like "qualche" and '' alcuni / alcune '”which are two forms to say in French' some '.

Italian pronouns

In Italian, personal pronouns are used as subjects when we want to emphasize the one performing the action.

Like French, people exist

Singular

Plural

1st person

Io = I

Noi = us

2nd person

You = you

See = you

3rd person

Lei = politeness you

Lei / ella = she

Him / egli = he

Loro = you (politeness)

Loro = they, they

Essa / esso = she / he (used to designate things or animals) as well as essi / esse = they / them.

Cours de langue italienne - Leçons #1 (Gratuit)
00:00 / 00:00

La langue italienne

Cours audio d'italien et grammaire

Par son origine commune avec le français et l'espagnol, la langue italienne connait une grammaire très similaire. On retrouve en italien des mots invariables comme les articles, les substantifs, les adjectifs, les pronoms et les verbes. Mais comme en français on retrouve aussi des mots qui sont invariables: les adverbes, les prépositions, les conjonctions et les interjections.  L'ordre des mots en italien est similaire au français.

Histoire de la langue italienne

L’origine de l’italien remonte à la naissance du latin vers 1400 av. J.-C. À cette époque, le latin existait sous deux formes ; le latin vulgaire (latin parlé ou populaire) parlé par la classe paysanne et celui illustré (latin classique) parlé par les élites, souvent utilisé dans la rédaction des textes littéraires, scientifiques ou religieux. Cependant, la forme vulgaire sous l’influence de plusieurs facteurs des peuples Étrusques, des Osco-ombriens, des Gaulois et des Grecs a subi quelques transformations à plusieurs niveaux (syntaxique, phonétique et linguistique) ce qui a favorisé la naissance de plusieurs dialectes sur tout le territoire italien.

En effet, l’Italie n’était pas un État au début de son histoire. Il s'agissait d'un vaste territoire subdivisé en régions indépendantes. Chaque province avait son dialecte, mais c’est le Toscan qui est devenu la langue véhiculaire et officielle du territoire national.

La langue de Florence : c’est vers les 9ème et 10ème siècles que les écrits dans le langage vulgaire ont commencé à apparaitre. C’est ainsi qu’au 13ème siècle, le langage parlée à Florence a commencé à être utilisé par les écrivains et notaires. Florence étant une grande ville, sa position géographique et économique ont favorisé l’essor des arts. L’exigence d’une langue capable d’unir l’Italie commença à se faire ressentir.

Entre 1303 et 1305, les principaux dialectes ont été recensés pour voir quel serait le plus apte et le digne de devenir la langue littéraire. Cette langue devrait être illustre de par sa tradition littéraire, cardinale, car elle serait le point fixe autour duquel tous les dialectes devraient tourner, noble et solennelle, car elle devrait être digne d’être employée dans les hauts lieux comme à la cour ou dans les tribunaux. Selon les recherches c’est le toscan qui satisfaisait à tous ces critères. En 1861, année de proclamation du Royaume d’Italie, le toscan a été choisi comme langue d’unification. L’Italie étant un pays plurilingue, compte plusieurs langues vernaculaires comme : le piémontais, le napolitain, le sicilien, le vénitien, le lombard, le sarde, l’émilien-romagnol, le frioulan…

Grammaire italienne

L’apprentissage d’une langue commence par son alphabet, le français et l’italien étant des langues sœurs (dérivé du latin). La grammaire italienne présente beaucoup de similitude avec la grammaire française et celle de l’espagnole ainsi que le vocabulaire. L’italien est langue romane, appartenant à la même famille linguistique que le français et l’espagnol. Cependant l’alphabet italien contient 21 lettres (16 consonnes et 5 voyelles) contrairement à celui du français.

A = a ; B = bi ; C = ci ; D = di ; E = e ; F = effe ; G = gi ; H = acca ; I = i ; L = elle ; M = emme ; N = enne ; O = o ; P = pi ; Q = qu ; R = erre ; S = esse ; T = ti ; U = ou ; V = vi et Z = zeta.

Les voyelles sont naturellement : A, E, I, O, U.

L’italien est une langue très phonétique, c’est-à-dire que les mots se prononcent tel qu’ils sont écrits. Pour aller plus vite voici quelques notions de base :

Les voyelles A, I, et O devant la lettre "C" et "G" se prononcent exactement comme en français ;

Ex : Ca = ka, Co = ko, Cu = kou ; Ga = gua, Go = guo, Gu = guou, mais Ci/Ce = tch, SCi/SCe = ch, Chi/Che = qu ; Gi/Ge = dje, Ghi/Ghe = gui/gue et Gli = yi.

 

La lettre "Q" est invariablement suivie par un "U" comme en français et donne le son "cou". Quant à la lettre "Z", elle donne le son "tz" comme le mot “pizza” qui se prononce “pitza” 

La composition des mots en italien

En Italien, la plupart des mots finissent par une voyelle : "a" au féminin, "o" au masculin et "i" au pluriel. Les mots italiens peuvent être distingués en neuf (9) catégories ; d’une part les variables : articles, substantifs, adjectifs, pronoms, les verbes et d’autre part les mots invariables comme les adverbes, prépositions, conjonctions et les interjections.

L’article en italien

Au masculin singulier, l’article défini “il” est utilisé quand le mot qu’il précède commence par une consonne et “lo” quant à lui s’emploi devant les mots commençant par une voyelle ou dans le cas des consonnes dites impures (ps, pn, gn, x, z).

Pour le masculin pluriel, la lettre “I” est utilisée pour les consonnes et “gli” s’emploie devant les consonnes impure ou de voyelle.

 

Au féminin singulier, on utilise “la” devant une consonne et "l" devant une voyelle, mais au féminin pluriel c’est "le" qui est usuel dans tous les cas.

Par ailleurs, les articles indéfinis ont aussi leur mode d’emploi. Au masculin singulier, on emploie "un" de façon générale et "uno" devant les mots commençant par une consonne impure ou une voyelle, mais au féminin singulier "una" est employé devant une consonne et "un" devant les mots commençant par une voyelle. Toutefois, il faut noter qu’il n’existe pas de pluriel indéfini en tant que tel, mais on fait souvent appel au partitif masculin "degli" ou féminin "delle", ou quelques fois les indéfinis comme "qualche" et ‘’alcuni/alcune’ » qui sont deux formes pour dire en français ‘quelques’.

Les pronoms italiens

En italien, les pronoms personnels sont utilisés comme sujets quand on veut insister sur celui qui réalise l’action.

Comme français, les personnes existent

Singulier

Pluriel

1re personne

Io = je

Noi = nous

2e personne

Tu = tu

Voi = vous

3e personne

Lei = vous de politesse

Lei /ella = elle

Lui /egli= il

Loro = vous (politesse)

Loro = ils, elles

Essa/esso=elle/il (s’emploient pour désigner les choses ou les animaux) de même que essi/esse=ils/elles.

Cours de langue italienne - Leçons #1 (Gratuit)
00:00 / 00:00