Wolof grammar

and Download the 100% audio Wolof course

Learn Wolof

This audio course for learning Wolof is based on rehearsal and active listening. Wolof is the Lingua Franca of Senegal and spoken not only by more than 40% of the population of which it is the mother tongue but also by a large part of the various ethnic groups of the country (80% of the population).

Cours de Wolof - Leçon #1 - @ Copyright LIMBA
00:00 / 00:00

Où parle-t-on le wolof?

 

La langue wolof est parlée principalement au Sénégal par plus de 10 millions de locuteurs. Des populations parlant le wolof sont aussi présentes en Gambie (environ 230 000 personnes) ainsi qu'en Mauritanie (plus de 15 000). 

The Senegalese are recognized in the Francophonie for their warmth and kindness. Although French is widely understood throughout the country, knowledge of Wolof allows a real foray into Senegalese culture. This audio course to learn Wolof will allow visitors and those having contact with the Senegalese people to access a rich but little-known culture.

Wolof is the main language of two important ethnic groups (Wolofs and Lebous) and since it is spoken or understood by more than 80% of the population of Senegal, it is the most used in various media (along with French).

Languages ​​of Senegal

Linguists know that Wolof has a similar origin with Fulani (a language spoken by nearly 23 million inhabitants in the African countries of the region). Although intercomprehension is impossible between people speaking Wolof and Fulani, the common origin has been attested by several linguists (a bit like between French and Polish which are both languages ​​belonging to the Indo-European family) .

Wolof is part of the Senegalese-Guinean language family. The most important language (in terms of number of speakers is Fulani) in this family. The other languages ​​of Senegal are part of the Mande language family (Bambara, Soninké, Mandingo, Soussou).

It is important to know that other languages ​​are also spoken in Senegal without being part of one of these two groups (Mande or Senegalese-Guinean). There is the "Moor" spoken by at least 50,000 people. It is a form of Arabic, called "hassanya".

Here is the% of languages ​​spoken in Senegal (mother tongue speakers)

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

  • Wolof 40%

  • Fulani (also called pulaar) 17.5%

  • serer 16.5%

  • diola 8%

  • Mandingo or Malinké 6%

  • soninké or sarakolé 6%

When one knows the linguistic diversity in Africa, it should not be surprised to learn that several other languages ​​are spoken by ethnic groups (often few) less known. To name a few: bassari, coniagui, balante, bedik .... These linguistic groups are found mainly in Casamance and Eastern Senegal.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

History of Wolof

Wolof, mainly spoken in Senegal, finds its origins in the heart of the Atlantic branch of the Niger-Congolese languages. Drawing its source from Pulaar , the Fulani people have a nomadic tradition still called Fulbe or Fulani in Arabic and is typically of Islamic custom. Wolof is also present in Mauritania, Cameroon, Gambia and Chad, but more rarely in the West and in Europe.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

It is important to know that the cultural mode of a language goes far beyond the framework of a single ethnic group. As regards Wolof, the language took root from Lôf, former province of Tekrou, then from Wâlo. The foundation and expansion in the 14th century of the Diollof empire provided it with real support. The realities conveyed by the rise of urban and technical cultures have prompted a renewal of its lexicon and have included Portuguese, English and French words. Like most African languages ​​of oral tradition, Islamization constituted the first contact with civilization with a written tradition and the first attempts at writing Wolof were made in Arabic characters: "Wolofal" still used in particular for Islamic religious poetry. It was not until 1971 that Wolof did not take an official script in Latin characters.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Thanks to the work of the Center for Applied Linguistics of Dakar (CLAD) light has been shed on previous linguistic works, that is to say those carried out during the colonial period and subsequently all the grammatical rules, conjugation, spelling which are currently in use. force especially in language teaching. Several authors and writers have worked in this direction.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Wolof grammar and basic rules

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Here are some grammatical elements that can help students learning the Wolof language, the main language of Senegal. These are the main aspects of the language. The information in this section is taken from the book "Parlons wolof" edited by Harmattan and written by Michel Malherbe and Cheikh Sall.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Wolof writing

Wolof, like the vast majority of languages ​​on the African continent, was linked to the oral tradition for a very long time. The first contacts with Islam in the 11th century of our era naturally developed a system directly influenced by the Arabic alphabet. It was much later that the Latin alphabet was integrated into everyday life.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Wolof is a language with an oral tradition. Contacts with Islam from the tenth century, and with explorers and missionaries from Europe around the middle of the fifteenth century introduced the practice of writing Wolof. The use of the Latin alphabet and the Arabic character as in the French language leaves its borrowings in the transcription of Wolof without forgetting the colonial aspect.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Due to the phonological specificities of the Wolof language, the letters: h , v , and z were not used. On the other hand, we introduced the letters ñ = gn French and ŋ = [ŋ] for the velar sound that we hear in final position in English words like " sing ". Thus the Wolof alphabet has 25 letters: abcdefgijklmn ñ ŋ opqrstuwxy

The Wolof phonological system

Distinctive sound units (phonemes in Wolof)

Wolof has 54 units of distinctive sounds that make it possible to establish differences in meaning in terms of vocabulary. Among these distinctive sound units are 15 vowel type (or vowel arrangement) and 39 consonants (or consonant arrangement).

The vowels are: a, aa, e, ee, é, ée, ë, i, ii, ó, óo, o, oo, u, uu

The consonants are: b, bb, c, d, f, g, gg, j, jj, k, l, ll, m, mm, mb, mp, n, nc, nd, ng, nj, nk, nn, nq, nt, ñ, ññ, ŋ, ŋŋ, p, q, r, s, t, tt, w, x, y

The distinctive features of phonemes in Wolof

Wolof vowels

The vowels are mainly distinguished from each other by:

  • The fact that they occur in the front, in the center or in the back of the mouth channel during their emission,

  • Their duration can be short or long,

  • The more or less large opening of the mouth channel (or aperture). With respect to this criterion, a vowel is closed or half-closed, open or half-open.

Closed front vowels: Short: i - tis = to splash, Long: ii - tiis = to be morally painful

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Pre-closed vowels: Short: é - wér = to be healthy, Long: ée - wéer = to press something against something

Vowels before mid-open: Brief: e - ren = this current year, Long: ee - reen = root

Mid-closed central vowels: Brief: ë - kër = house

Open central vowels: Short: a - sa = ton / ta, Long: aa - saa = instant

Closed back vowels: Short: u - rus = to experience discomfort, to be confused, Long: uu - ruus = to crumble, to crumble…

Mid-closed back vowels: Brief: ó - tóx = smoking, Long: óó - tóóx = to be saturated

Mid-open back vowels: short: o - wor = to betray, long: oo - woor = to fast.

Like vowels, consonants also have their own particularities; they are classified: in deaf or sonorous consonants, in occlusive, constrictive or nasal consonants, themselves being divided into simple, twin or complex consonants.

Parts of speech in Wolof

In Wolof, three classes of discourse were proposed by the missionary author Kobès: substantives, particles and attributes. The nouns are declined and the verbs are conjugated. The same word can be used in two or three different ways (nouns, verbs, adverbs, prepositions…). We also have invariable words that admit neither declension, number nor genre.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Male and female in Wolof

In Wolof, there is no such thing as a genre. We are talking more about classes, which number 10 in Wolof. The class is characterized by an article which is placed after the word (like articles in French)

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Possessive adjectives in Wolof

Possessive adjectives like "my" or "my" are always placed before the noun except those in the third person like (his, his, his). Thus the word "work" which is said "ligeey" can be accompanied by " samma ligeey " to mean "my work". To say "your work", we will say " its ligeey ".

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Numbers in Wolof

Wolof's number system is influenced by the fifteen system (by 5). So after the number 5 " juroom ", we will say 6 " juroom been " (literally 5 + 1), 7 " juroom naar " (5 + 2) and so on.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Wolof conjugation and verbs  

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The nature of a verb in Wolof is determined in relation to its ability to support personal pronouns. There are six personal pronouns in Wolof:

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

I = dama , Tu = danga , He / she = dafa , We = damaged , You = dangeen , They / they = deñu .

It is important to stress that even if there is a grammatical similarity between French and Wolof, we still encounter important differences in the morphological construction of the conjugation. The verb to be having no equivalent in Wolof, the "verb" of state will then play its role.

Wolof example:

a) dama contan - I'm happy

b) Danga soon - You are tired

c) Dafa marr - He / she is thirsty

d) Dañu tang - We are hot

e) Dangeen feebar - You are sick

f) Deñu noppalu - They rest

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Unlike French, the voice in Wolof does not correspond to the same term as that of French. So we mean by voice in Wolof: the affirmative and the negative.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition, the conjugation in Wolof includes ten modes: the infinitive, the enunciative, the subjective, the objective, the causative, the imperative, the subjunctive, the suppositive, the gerund and the accusative.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Ex: The enunciative: sopà nâ ko

I love her (I love her)

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition, time is distinguished in Wolof by the main tenses: the past, the present, the future; but she doesn't have much secondary time. On the other hand, the use of circumstantial verbs as auxiliaries, allows him to express the nuances which do not exist in the conjugation of European languages.

The present: The expression of "the action in the process of taking place" is assimilated to the value of an immediate present or even the form "ing" of English. We encounter a modification of personal pronouns with the addition of a '' y '' except in the second person plural (vous) of French.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Ex: leave - dem

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

I'm leaving - damay dem

You're leaving - dangay dem

He / she leaves - dafay dem

We leave - dañuy dem

You go - dangeen dem

They leave - deñuy dem

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

The imperfect in Wolof: in the imperfect we find the same personal pronouns to which we add the morpheme "doon".

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Ex: sleeping - nelaw

I was sleeping - dama doon nelaw

You were sleeping - danga doon nelaw

He / she was sleeping - dafa doon nelaw

We were sleeping - dañu doon nelaw

You were sleeping - dangeen doon nelaw

They slept - deñu doon nelaw

The Wolof conjugation is therefore constructed according to a process of affixing a morpheme indicating time or by the addition of a letter as in the case of the '' y '' expressing the action taking place in a trial in the present tense. But in the past tense, we add to personal pronouns the morpheme "oon" after verbs with the following pronouns: naa, nga, na, nañu, ngeen, nañu. Here the fourth and the sixth person look alike, only the context and the understanding of the interlocutors can define which case it is.

Ex: leave - dem

I'm gone - demoon naa

You're gone - demoon nga

He / she is gone - demoon na

We're gone - demoon nañu

You're gone - demoon ngeen

They left - demoon nañu

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The future is formed with: dinaa , dinga , dina , dinañu , dingeen and dinañu .

Ex: work - ligeey

I will work - dinaa ligeey

You will work - dinga ligeey

He / she will work - dina ligeey

We will work - dinañu ligeey

You will work - dingeen ligeey

They will work - dinañu ligeey

The negation is composed from the following pronouns: duma, doo, du, duñu, du, ngeen, and duñu followed by the verb.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Ex: I don't watch / duma xool

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In Wolof, the interrogative sentence is constructed with a verb followed by the pronouns: naa, nga, na, nañu, ngeen and neñu.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Ex: do I see? / Xool naa?

Does? / Ndax?

Is he sleeping? / Ndax dafay nelaw?

Am I leaving? / Ndax damay dem?

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

We therefore meet, depending on the time, a modification of the pronoun or the verb. This is what defines the subtleties of the conjugation of Wolof. The intellectual gymnastics are carried out quickly by the speakers plus a sustained prosodic rhythm, singing and bouncing.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

There are eight conjugations in Wolof:

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

  • The perfect : indicates the moment of the utterance (the suffix '' y '' of the incomplete).

  • The presentative : presents a coincidence between the process and the situation of the enunciation.

  • The narrative-aorist / accomplished : the process is identified in relation to a situational landmark.

  • The imperative : indicates the order of execution of which the interlocutor is the subject.

  • The mandatory : indicates the order to his interlocutor to have the trial carried out by his subject.

  • The emphatic of the verb, of the subject and of the complement : indicates the choice of the enunciator which identifies the verb, the subject or the complement of the predicative relation by distinguishing it from a set of possible values.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

It should also be noted that the order of the constituents, in Wolof, will be carried out according to the conjugation used. Four verbal morphemes are also added (analytical or synthetic), either the past tense marker "oon" or "--woon" if the verb ends with a vowel, the unfulfilled ones "y" and " di >> and the negative << ul >>.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

The Wolof conjugation system therefore involves different morphemes depending on the tenses used and the aspect sought by the speaker. The morphological approach is therefore inflectional and is based on an operation of prefixes and suffixes.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Numbers in Wolof

In Wolof, you can count in all languages ​​but more easily with a simple numbering system (quinary and tens: 6 = 5 + 1 and 11 = 10 and 1….).

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Ex: 0 = tus, 1 = been, 2 = ñaar, 3 = ñett, 4 = ñent, 5 = juróom, 6 = juróom been (5 + 1), 7 = juróom ñaar, 8 = juróom ñett, 9 = juróom ñent , 10 = fukk, 11 = fukk ag been, 12 = fukk ag ñaar, 13 = fukk ag ñett, 14 = fukk ag ñent, 15 = fukk ag juróom, 16 = fukk ag juróom been, 17 = fukk ag juróom ñaar, 18 = fukk ag juróom ñett, 19 = fukk ag juróom ñent, 20 = ñaar fukk, 21 = ñaar fukk ag been (2 * 10), 30 = fanweer, 40 = ñent fukk, 50 = juróom, 60 = juróom been fukk, 70 = juróom ñaar fukk, 80 = juróom ñett fukk, 90 = juróom ñent fukk, 100 = téeméer, 1000 = junni.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Wolof is a complex language but more or less structured among a panoply of African vehicular languages ​​of oral tradition. It should also be noted that it is a living language, its writing evolves and adapts to modern French and Latin linguistic standards.

Cours de Wolof - Leçon #1 - @ Copyright LIMBA
00:00 / 00:00

Apprendre le wolof (Langue du Sénégal)

Cours audio de wolof  - Téléchargement du cours de wolof

Apprendre le wolof

 

Ce cours audio pour apprendre le wolof est basé sur la répétition et l'écoute active. Le wolof est la Lingua Franca du Sénégal et parlé non seulement par plus de 40% de la population dont elle est la langue maternelle mais aussi par une grande partie des diverses ethnies du pays (80% de la population).

Cours de Wolof - Leçon #1 - @ Copyright LIMBA
00:00 / 00:00

Où parle-t-on le wolof?

 

La langue wolof est parlée principalement au Sénégal par plus de 10 millions de locuteurs. Des populations parlant le wolof sont aussi présentes en Gambie (environ 230 000 personnes) ainsi qu'en Mauritanie (plus de 15 000). 

Les Sénégalais sont reconnus dans la francophonie pour leur chaleur et leur gentillesse. Bien que le français soit largement compris partout dans le pays, la connaissance du wolof permet une réelle incursion dans la culture sénégalaise. Ce cours audio pour apprendre le wolof permettra aux visiteurs et ceux ayant des contacts avec le peuple sénégalais de pouvoir accéder à une culture riche mais méconnue.

 

Le wolof est la langue principale de deux ethnies importantes (les Wolofs et Lébous) et puisqu'elle est parlée ou comprise par plus de 80 % de la population du Sénégal, elle est la plus utilisé dans les divers médias (avec le français).

Langues du Sénégal

 

Les linguistes savent que le wolof possède une origine similaire avec le peul (langue parlée par près de 23 millions d'habitants dans les pays africains de la région). Bien que l'intercompréhension soit impossible entre les personnes parlant wolof et le peul, l'origine commune a été attesté par plusieurs linguistes (un peu comme entre le français et le polonais qui sont tous deux des langues appartenant à la famille indo-européenne).

 

Le wolof fait partie de la famille des langues sénégalo-guinéennes. La langue la plus importante (en terme de nombre de locuteurs est le peul) dans cette famille. Les autres langues du Sénégal font partie de la famille des langues mandés (bambara, soninké, mandingue, soussou).

 

Il est important de savoir que d'autres langues sont également parlées au Sénégal sans pour autant faire partie de l'un de ces deux groupes (mandés ou sénégalo-guinéenes). On compte le « maure » parlé par au moins 50 000 personnes. Il s'agit d'une forme d'arabe, appelé « hassanya ».

 

Voici le % des langues parlées au Sénégal (locuteurs de langue maternelle)

  • wolof 40%

  • peul (aussi appelé pulaar) 17.5%

  • sérère 16.5%

  • diola 8%

  • mandingue ou malinké 6%

  • soninké ou sarakolé 6%

 

Lorsqu'on connaît la diversité linguistiques en Afrique, il ne faut pas se surprendre d'apprendre que plusieurs autres langues sont parlées par des ethnies (souvent peu nombreuses) moins connues. Pour n'en nommer que quelques-unes : bassari, coniagui, balante, bedik.... On retrouve ces groupes linguistiques principalement en Casamance et au Sénégal Oriental.

Histoire du wolof

 

Le wolof, majoritairement parlé au Sénégal, trouve ses origines au cœur de la branche atlantique des langues nigéro-congolaises. Tirant sa source du pulaar, le peuple peul possède une tradition nomade encore appelé en arabe foulbé ou foulani et est typiquement de coutume islamique. Le wolof est aussi présent en Mauritanie, au Cameroun, en Gambie et au Tchad, mais plus rarement en occident et en Europe.

Il est important de savoir que le mode culturel d'une langue déborde largement le cadre d’une seule ethnie. En ce qui concerne le wolof, la langue prit racine à partir du Lôf, ancienne province du Tekrou, puis du Wâlo. La fondation et l’expansion au XIVe siècle, de l’empire du Diollof lui ont servi un véritable support. Les réalités véhiculées par l’essort des cultures urbaines et techniques ont suscité un renouvellement de son lexique et y ont déposé de vocables portugais, anglais et français. Comme la pluspart des langues d’Afrique de tradition orale, l’islamisation a constitué le premier contact avec la civilisation à tradition écrite et les premières tentatives d’écriture du wolof se sont faites en caractères arabes : « le wolofal » encore utilisé notamment pour la poésie religieuse islamique. Ce n’est qu’en 1971 que le wolof ne prendra une écriture officielle en caractères latins.

Grace aux travaux du Centre de Linguistique Appliqué de Dakar (CLAD) la lumière a été mis sur les travaux linguistiques antérieurs, soit ceux effectués pendant la période coloniale et par la suite toutes les règles grammaticales, de conjugaison, d’orthographe qui sont actuellement en vigueur notamment dans l’enseignement de la langue. Plusieurs auteurs et écrivains ont travaillé dans ce sens.

Grammaire et règles de base du wolof

Voici quelques éléments grammaticaux qui pourront aider les étudiants apprenant la langue wolof, la langue principale du Sénégal. Il s’agit des aspects principaux de la langue. Les informations de cette section sont tirées du livre "Parlons wolof" édité aux éditions l'Harmattan et écrit par Michel Malherbe et Cheikh Sall.

L'écriture wolof: le wolof, comme la grande majorité des langues du continent africain fut liée à la tradition orale pendant très longtemps. Les premiers contacts avec l'islam au 11ème siècle de notre ère a bien naturellement développé un système directement influencé par l'alphabet arabe. C'est bien plus tard que l'alphabet latin fut intégré dans la vie quotidienne.

Le wolof étant une langue à tradition orale. Les contacts avec l’islam dès le Xe siècle, et avec les explorateurs et missionnaires venus d’Europe vers le milieu du XVe siècle ont introduit la pratique de l’écriture du wolof. L’utilisation de l’alphabet latin et du caractère arabes comme dans la langue française laisse ses emprunts dans la transcription du wolof sans oublier l’aspect colonial.

En raison des spécificités phonologiques de la langue wolof, les lettres : h, v, et z n’ont pas été utilisées. En revanche on a introduit les lettres ñ= gn français et ŋ= [ŋ] pour le son vélaire qu’on entend en position finale dans les mots anglais comme "sing". Ainsi l’alphabet wolof compte 25 lettres : a b c d e f g i j k l m n ñ ŋ o p q r s t u w x y

 

Le système phonologique du wolof

 

Les unités de sons distinctifs (phonèmes en wolof)

 

Le wolof compte 54 unités de sons distinctifs qui permettent d’établir des différences de sens au niveau du vocabulaire. Parmi ces unités de sons distinctifs, on compte type de 15 voyelles (ou agencement de voyelles) et 39 consonnes (ou agencement de consonne).

 

Les voyelles sont : a, aa, e, ee, é, ée, ë, i, ii, ó, óo, o, oo, u, uu

 

Les consonnes sont : b, bb, c, d, f, g, gg, j, jj, k, l, ll, m, mm, mb, mp, n, nc, nd, ng, nj, nk, nn, nq, nt, ñ, ññ, ŋ, ŋŋ, p, q, r, s, t, tt, w, x, y

 

Les traits distinctifs des phonèmes en wolof

 

Les voyelles

 

Les voyelles se distinguent essentiellement entre elles par :

  • Le fait qu’elles se réalisent à l’avant, au centre ou à l’arrière du chenal buccal lors de leur émission,

  • Leur durée peut être brève ou longue,

  • L’ouverture plus ou moins grande du chenal buccal (ou aperture). Par rapport à ce critère, une voyelle est fermée ou mi- fermée, ouverte ou mi- ouverte.

 

Voyelles d’avant fermées : Brève : i - tis = éclabousser, Longue : ii – tiis = être pénible moralement

Voyelles d’avant mi- fermées : Brève : é – wér = être sain, Longue : ée – wéer = appuyer quelque chose contre quelque chose

 

Voyelles d’avant mi- ouvertes : Brève : e - ren = cette année en cours, Longue : ee – reen = racine

 

Voyelles centrales mi- fermées : Brève : ë - kër = maison

 

Voyelles centrales ouvertes : Brève : a – sa = ton/ta, Longue : aa – saa = instant

 

Voyelles d’arrière fermées : Brève : u – rus = éprouver de la gêne, être confus, Longue : uu – ruus = s’éfriter, s’émietter…

 

Voyelles d’arrière mi- fermées: Brève : ó - tóx = fumer, Longue :óó - tóóx = être saturé

 

Voyelles d’arrière mi- ouvertes : brève : o – wor = trahir, longue : oo – woor = jeûner.

 

De la même manière que les voyelles, les consonnes aussi ont leurs particularités ; elles se classent : en consonnes sourdes ou sonores, en occlusives, constrictives ou nasales, se répartissant, elles-mêmes, en consonnes simples géminées ou complexes.

 

Les parties du discours en wolof

 

En wolof, trois classes de discours ont été proposées par l’auteur missionnaire Kobès : les substantifs, les particules et les attributs. Les noms se déclinent et les verbes se conjuguent. Un même mot pourra s’employer de deux ou trois manières différentes (noms, verbes, adverbes, prépositions…). On a aussi des mots invariables qui n’admettent ni déclinaison, ni nombre ni genre.

Masculin et féminin en wolof: en wolof, il n'existe pas de genre à proprement dit. On parle plutôt de classes, qui sont aux nombre de 10 en wolof. La classe est caractérisée par un article qui est placé après le mot (comme les articles en français)

Adjectifs possessif en wolof: Les adjectifs possessifs comme "mon" ou "ma" se placent toujours avant le nom sauf ceux à la troisième personne comme (son, sa, ses). Ainsi le mot "travail" qui se dit "ligeey" pourra être accompagné de "samma ligeey" pour dire "mon travail". Pour dire "ton travail", on dira "sa ligeey".

Les nombres en wolof: le système de nombre du wolof est influencé par le système quinère (par 5). Ainsi après le chiffre 5 "juroom", on dira 6 "juroom been" (littéralement 5 + 1), 7 "juroom naar" (5 + 2) et ainsi de suite.

Conjugaison et verbes wolofs 

La nature d’un verbe en wolof est déterminée par rapport à sa capacité de supporter les pronoms personnels. Il existe six pronoms personnels en wolof :

Je = dama, Tu = danga, Il /elle = dafa, Nous = dañu, Vous = dangeen, Ils/elles = deñu.

 

Il est important de souligner que même s'il ya une similitude grammaticale entre le français et le wolof, on rencontre tout de même des différences importantes dans la construction morphologique de la conjugaison. Le verbe être n’ayant pas d’équivalent en wolof, le "verbe" d’état jouera alors son rôle.

 

Ex : dama contan - Je suis content

Danga soon - Tu es fatigué/e

Dafa marr - Il/elle a soif

Dañu tang - Nous avons chaud

Dangeen feebar - Vous êtes malades

Deñu noppalu - Ils se reposent

 

Contrairement au français, la voix en wolof ne correspond pas au même terme que celui du français. Ainsi donc on entend par voix en wolof : l’affirmative et la négative.

 

Par ailleurs, la conjugaison en wolof comprend dix modes : l’infinitif, l’énonciatif, le subjectif, l’objectif, le causatif, l’impératif, le subjonctif, le suppositif, le gérondif et l’accusatif.

 

Ex : L’énonciatif : sopà nâ ko
 

Aimer je la/le (je l’aime)

En outre, le temps quant à lui est distingué en wolof par de principaux temps : le passé, le présent, le futur ; mais elle n’a pas beaucoup de temps secondaires. Par contre, l’emploi de verbes circonstanciels comme des auxiliaires, lui permet d’exprimer les nuances qui n’existent pas dans la conjugaison des langues Européennes.

Le présent : L’expression de << l’action en train de se dérouler >> s’assimile à la valeur d’un présent immédiat ou encore la forme << ing >> de l’anglais. On rencontre une modification des pronoms personnels avec l’ajout d’un ‘’y’’ sauf à la deuxième personne du pluriel (vous) du français.

 

Ex : partir dem

 

Je pars damay dem

Tu pars dangay dem

Il/elle part dafay dem

Nous partons dañuy dem

Vous partez dangeen dem

Ils/elles partent deñuy dem

 

L’imparfait : à l’imparfait on retrouve les mêmes pronoms personnels auxquels on ajoute le morphème << doon>>.

 

Ex : dormir      nelaw

Je dormais     dama doon nelaw

Tu dormais     danga doon nelaw

Il/elle dormait dafa doon nelaw

Nous dormions dañu doon nelaw

Vous dormiez dangeen doon nelaw

Ils/elles dormaient deñu doon nelaw

 

La conjugaison wolof se construit donc selon un procédé d’affixation de morphème indicateur de temps ou par l’adjonction d’une lettre comme le cas du ‘’y’’ exprimant l’action en train de se dérouler dans un procès au présent. Mais au passé, on ajoute aux pronoms personnels le morphème << oon >> après les verbes avec les pronoms suivants : naa, nga, na, nañu, ngeen, nañu. Ici la quatrième et la sixième personne se ressemblent, seul le contexte et la compréhension des interlocuteurs peuvent définir de quel cas il s’agit.

 

Ex : partir dem

 

Je suis parti demoon naa

Tu es parti demoon nga

Il/elle est parti demoon na

Nous sommes partis demoon nañu

Vous êtes partis demoon ngeen

Ils/elles sont partis demoon nañu

Le futur quant à lui se forme avec : dinaa, dinga, dina, dinañu, dingeen et dinañu.

 

Ex : travailler ligeey

 

Je travaillerai dinaa ligeey

Tu travailleras dinga ligeey

Il/elle travaillera dina ligeey

Nous travaillerons dinañu ligeey

Vous travaillerez dingeen ligeey

Ils/elles travailleront dinañu ligeey

 

La négation, elle se compose à partir des pronoms suivants : duma, doo, du, duñu, du, ngeen, et duñu suivies du verbe.

 

Ex : je ne regarde pas / duma xool

 

La modalité interrogative se construit de verbe suivi des pronoms : naa, nga, na, nañu, ngeen et neñu.

 

Ex : vois-je ?/ xool naa ?

Est-ce que ?/ Ndax ?

Est-ce qu’il dort ?/ Ndax dafay nelaw ?

Est-ce que je pars ?/ Ndax damay dem ?

 

On rencontre donc selon les temps, une modification du pronom ou du verbe. C’est ce qui définie les subtilités de la conjugaison du wolof. La gymnastique intellectuelle s’effectuent rapidement par les locuteurs plus un rythme prosodique soutenu, chantant et rebondissant.

 

On distingue huit conjugaisons en wolof :

  • Le parfait : indique le moment de l’énonciation (le suffixe ‘’y’’ de l’inaccompli).

  • Le présentatif : présente une coïncidence entre le procès et la situation de l’énonciation.

  • Le narratif-aoriste/ accompli : le procès s’identifie par rapport à un repère situationnel.

  • L’impératif : indique l’ordre d’exécution dont l’interlocuteur est le sujet.

  • L’obligatif : indique l’ordre à son interlocuteur de faire exécuter le procès par son sujet.

  • L’emphatique du verbe, du sujet et du complément : indique le choix de l’énonciateur qui identifie le verbe, le sujet ou le complément de la relation prédicative en le distinguant d’un ensemble de valeurs possibles.

 

Il est aussi à noter que l’ordre des constituants, en wolof, s’effectuera en fonction de la conjugaison utilisée. Quatre morphèmes verbaux s’ajoutent également (analytiques ou synthétiques), soit le marqueur du passé << oon >> ou << --woon >> si le verbe se termine par une voyelle, les inaccomplis << y >> et << di >> et le négatif << ul >>.

 

Le système de conjugaison wolof fait donc intervenir différents morphèmes selon les temps employés et l’aspect recherché par le locuteur. La démarche morphologique est donc flexionnelle et se base sur un fonctionnement de préfixes et de suffixes.

Les nombres en wolof

En wolof on compte dans toutes les langues mais plus facilement avec un système de numération simple (quinaire et dizaine : 6= 5+1 et 11= 10 et 1….) .

Ex : 0 = tus, 1= been, 2= ñaar, 3= ñett, 4= ñent, 5= juróom, 6= juróom been(5+1) , 7= juróom ñaar, 8= juróom ñett, 9= juróom ñent, 10= fukk, 11= fukk ag been, 12= fukk ag ñaar, 13= fukk ag ñett, 14= fukk ag ñent, 15= fukk ag juróom, 16= fukk ag juróom been, 17= fukk ag juróom ñaar, 18= fukk ag juróom ñett, 19= fukk ag juróom ñent, 20= ñaar fukk, 21= ñaar fukk ag been(2*10), 30= fanweer, 40= ñent fukk, 50= juróom, 60= juróom been fukk, 70= juróom ñaar fukk, 80= juróom ñett fukk, 90= juróom ñent fukk, 100= téeméer, 1000=junni.

 

Le wolof est une langue complexe mais plus ou moins structurée parmi une panoplie de langues véhiculaires africaines de tradition orale. Il faut remarquer aussi que c’est langue vivante, son écriture évolue et s’adapte aux normes linguistiques modernes françaises et latines.