Grammar and structure of the Yakut language (cаха тыла)

Learn the language of Yakutia in Eastern Siberia

Cours de langue iakoute en France

Note: this information pack on the Yakut language has referenced the work of Émilie Maj and Marine Leberre-Semenov in the book “Parlons Sakha” written by Harmattan editions. It is an important resource for this Siberian language.

 

The Yakut language (also written Yakut), also known as Sakha, is spoken by 450,000 people living mainly in the Russian Republic of Sakha by the Yakutsk people. Yakut has certain peculiarities when compared to other languages of the Turkish family.

Cours complet de iakoute

Leçons audio à télécharger

en .mp3

Une connaissance concrète

de la langue iakoute

Votre passeport pour

la Yakoutie

Un apprentissage intuitif

The language of the Yakuts is part of the Altaic group just like the Mongolian languages ​​such as Khalkh and Buryat. It also has structures similar to ancient Turkic languages ​​such as Chuvach (Tchouvatche). It should also be noted the long interaction with the Evenke and Mongolian languages, thus creating changes on the phonetic, lexical and grammatical level.

Yakut alphabet

The first (phonetic) text written in the Yakut language was written in 1705. On the other hand, it was in 1851 that the first Yakut language grammar was written by Eduard Pekarskij (1858-1934). An alphabet was introduced in 1919 and more formally established in 1922. The alphabet used at that time was the Novgorodov system before returning to the Latin alphabet in the 1930s. In 1939-1943, the Cyrillic alphabet was reintroduced for writing the Yakut language. The Yakut Cyrillic alphabet uses 40 letters. It consists of the typical Cyrillic alphabet with 7 additional letters (or arrangement of letters) (Ҕ, Дь, Ҥ, Нь, Ө, Һ, Ү). The letters е, ё, ю я are not typical of Yakut phonetics. They always come from words borrowed from foreign languages ​​(mainly Russian)

 

Yakut phonetics

Like Mongolian and Turkish languages, Yakut uses the principle of vowel harmony. The language has long (doubled) and short vowels. Diphthongs are very present (two pronounced followed vowels - ыa, yo, иэ, үө)

 

Vocalic harmony in Turkish languages

 

Yakut is an agglutinating language. This means that we append to a basic radical, suffixes which determine the number, the gender, the case, the person and the time. This agglutination is done in connection with the principle of vocalic harmony. The latter dictates that the vowel found in the base stem determines the vowels of the suffixes affixed to the latter. In other words, the vowels will be of the same class (closed vowels - ы, и, у, ү, open vowels - э, а, о, и) as that in the base stem.

 

Each suffix can therefore have 4 variants depending on the radical to which it is affixed. If we take the suffix determining the plural, we can find it in one or the other of these forms –лар, -лэр, -лор, -лөр

Consonant assimilation of the Yakut language

This principle states that some consonant changes when we append a suffix to a base stem. Thus the Yakut word омук (in Latin: omouk - people) becomes омуга (in Latin: omouga - his people). In the previous example, the K becomes G.

In the Yakut language, we now know that the language is said to be agglutinating in the sense that suffixes will be affixed to a base radical. This apposition of two morphemes with distinct consonants will often create a doubling of consonants.

 

Here are some rules of these doublings in Yakut

 

т + л = тт ат + лар аттар (horses)

н + л = нн дьон + лор дьоннор (people)

ҥ + ҕ = ҥҥ хатыҥ + ҕа хатыҥҥа (on the birch)

х + ҕ = хх харах + ҕа харахха (in the eye)

 

In some cases, we will speak of transformation of the two consonants (final consonant in the base radical and initial consonant of the suffix)

 

т + б ˃ пп

н + б ˃ мм

н + ҕ ˃ ҥҥ

 

To summarize the principle of consonantal assimilation in Yakut, it should be understood that the initial consonant of the suffix changes according to the final consonant of the base of the radical to which it agglutinates.

 

Possession in Yakut

 

In the Yakut language, it is imperative to add a membership suffix in addition to a possessive pronoun. The suffix changes depending on the person (1st, 2nd or 3rd) and the number (singular or plural). Here are the suffixes to add at the end of the word to mark possession

 

Singular plural

1st person - м -бит

2nd people - ҥ -ҕыт

3rd person - а -лар

 

Possessive pronouns in Yakut

 

Мин (my), Эн (tone), Кини (sound), БиҺиги (our), ЭҺиги (your), Кинилэр (their)

 

Examples of prossession in Yakut with the word аҕа (father)

 

Мин аҕам (my father)

Эн аҕаҥ (your father)

Кини аҕата (her father)

БиҺиги аҕабыт (our father)

ЭҺиги аҕаҕыт (your father)

Кинилэр аҕалара (their father)

 

Adjectives in Yakut

 

The Yakut adjectives are always invariable. It therefore never changes in relation to name, gender, number or case. Thus the word улахан meaning “great-es” can be appended to the word “дьиэ” meaning “house”.

 

улахан дьиэ (a big house), улахан дьиэлэр (big houses), улахан дьиэҕэ (in a big house)

 

Possessive adjectives in Yakut

 

The personal pronouns used to indicate "I, you, he, we, you, they" are the same as for the possessive adjectives "my, your, his, his, our, your, their", Мин (my), Эн ( tone), Кини (sound), БиҺиги (our), ЭҺиги (your), Кинилэр (their). Here is the list:

Мин (I), Эн (you), Кини (he, she), БиҺиги (we), ЭҺиги (you), Кинилэр (they, they).

 

Yakut verbs and conjugation

 

The Yakut verbs have two patterns depending on whether they end with a consonant "гын (to do)" or with a vowel "сатаа (to know how)". The Yakut conjugation includes 4 tenses: present, recent past, distant past and future. As with all aspects of the Yakut language, it is the addition of a suffix (changing over time) that creates the negation.

The declension of the Yakut language

 

The Yakut language includes an 8-case declension:

 

Nominative : subject case

Partitive : complement of the name. It corresponds to the French “de” as in the expression “the friend of my father.

Dative : indirect object complement. Answers the question "to what?" Whose? "

Accusative : direct object complement. Answers the question "What?" Who? "

Ablative : Indicates the origin. He answers the questions "From whom?" From who? About what? From where?

Instrumental : indicates the way and answers the question "by whom, not what?" With what?

Support : indicates what accompanies the action

Comparative : this case marks the superiority and answers the question "more than who?" "Or" more than what? "

 

In the Yakut language, the types of declensions are numerous. There is a particular declension for simple nouns, for nouns with a membership suffix, and a final one for personal pronouns.

Grammaire et structure de la langue iakoute (cаха тыла)

Apprendre la langue de la Yakoutie en Sibérie Orientale

Note : ce dossier d’informations sur la langue yakoute a pris en référence les travaux de Émilie Maj et Marine Leberre-Semenov dans le livre « Parlons Sakha » écrit aux éditions Harmattan. Il s’agit d’une ressource importante pour cette langue de Sibérie.

 

La langue yakoute (aussi écrit iakoute), également connue sous le nom de Sakha, est parlée par 450 000 personnes vivant principalement dans la république russe de Sakha par le peuple yakoutsk. Le yakoute possède certaines particularités  si on le compare aux autres langues de la famille turque.

Leçons audio à télécharger

en .mp3

Une connaissance concrète

de la langue iakoute

Votre passeport pour

la Yakoutie

Un apprentissage intuitif

La langue des yakoutes  fait parti du groupe altaïque au même titre que les langues mongoles comme le khalkh et le bouriate. Elle possède d’ailleurs des structures similaires aux langues turciques anciennes comme le Chuvach (Tchouvatche). Il faut également noter la longue interaction avec la langue evenke et mongole, créant ainsi des changements tant sur le plan phonétique, lexical que grammatical.

Alphabet yakoute

Le premier texte (phonétique) écrit en langue yakoute fut écrit en 1705. Par contre, c’est en 1851 que fut écrit la première grammaire de langue yakoute par Eduard Pekarskij (1858-1934). Un alphabet fut introduit en 1919 et établit plus formellement en 1922. L’alphabet utlisé à cette époque était le système Novgorodov avant de retourner à l’alphabet latin dans les années 30. En 1939-1943, l’alphabet cyrillique fut réintroduit pour écrire la langue yakoute. L’alphabet cyrillique yakoute utilise 40 lettres. Elle est constituée de l’alphabet cyrillique typique avec 7 lettres (ou agencement de lettres) supplémentaires (Ҕ, Дь, Ҥ, Нь, Ө, Һ, Ү). Les lettre е, ё, ю я ne sont pas typiques de la phonétique iakoute. Elles proviennent toujours de mots empruntés à des langues étrangères (principalement du russe)

 

Phonétique yakoute

Comme le mongole et les langues turques, le iakoute utilise le principe d’harmonie vocalique. La langue possède des voyelles longues (redoublées) et courtes. Les diphtongues sont très présentes (deux voyelles suivies prononcées – ыa, yo, иэ, үө)

 

Harmonie vocalique dans les langues turques

 

Le yakoute est une langue agglutinante. C’est donc dire qu’on appose à un radical de base, des suffixes qui déterminent le nombre, le genre, le cas, la personne et le temps. Cette agglutination se fait en lien avec le principe d’harmonie vocalique. Ce dernier dicte que la voyelle retrouvée dans le radical de base détermine les voyelles des suffixes apposés à ce dernier. En d’autre mots, les voyelles seront de la même classe (voyelles fermées – ы, и, у, ү, voyelles ouvertes – э, а, о, и) que celle dans le radical de base.

 

Chaque suffixe peut donc avoir 4 variantes selon le radical auquel il est apposé. Si on prend le suffixe déterminant le pluriel, on pourra le retrouver dans l’une ou l’autre de ces formes –лар, -лэр, -лор, -лөр

Assimilation consonantique de la langue iakoute

Ce principe stipule que certains consonne change lorsqu’on appose un suffixe à un radical de base. Ainsi le mot iakoute омук (en latin : omouk – peuple) devient омуга (en latin : omouga – son peuple). Dans l’exemple précédent, le K devient G.

En langue yakoute, on sait maintenant que la langue est dite agglutinante en ce sens que des suffixe vont être apposé à un radical de base. Cette apposition de deux morphèmes aux consonnes distinctes créera souvent un doublement de consonnes.

 

Voici certaines règles de ces doublements en iakoute

 

т + л =       тт               ат + лар             аттар (les chevaux)

н + л =       нн              дьон + лор        дьоннор (les gens)

ҥ + ҕ =       ҥҥ             хатыҥ + ҕа       хатыҥҥа (sur le bouleau)

х + ҕ =       хх               харах + ҕа        харахха (dans l’œil)

 

Dans certains cas, on parlera de transformation des deux consonnes (consonne finale dans le radical de base et consonne initiale du suffixe)

 

т + б        ˃      пп

н + б        ˃      мм

н + ҕ       ˃      ҥҥ

 

Pour résumé le principe d’assimilation consonantique en iakoute, il faut comprendre que la consonne initiale du suffixe change selon la consonne finale de la base du radical auquel il s’agglutine.

 

La possession en iakoute

 

Dans la langue des Yakoutes, il est impératif d’ajouter un suffixe d’appartenance en plus d’un pronom possessif. Le suffixe change en fonction de la personne (1ère, 2ème ou 3ème) et du nombre (singulier ou pluriel). Voici les suffixes à ajouter à la fin du mot pour marquer la possession

 

                                          Singulier                    Pluriel

1ère personne                    - м                             -бит

2ème personnes                - ҥ                              -ҕыт

3ème personne                  - а                               -лар 

 

Les pronoms possessifs en iakoute

 

Мин (mon), Эн (ton), Кини (son), БиҺиги (notre), ЭҺиги (votre), Кинилэр (leur)

 

Exemples de prossession en iakoute avec le mot аҕа (père)

 

Мин аҕам (mon père)

Эн аҕаҥ (ton père)

Кини аҕата (son père)

БиҺиги аҕабыт (notre père)

ЭҺиги аҕаҕыт (votre père)

Кинилэр аҕалара (leur père)

 

Les adjectifs en iakoute

 

Les adjectifs iakoutes sont toujours invariables. Il ne change donc jamais en lien avec le nom, le genre, le nombre ni le cas. Ainsi le mot улахан signifiant « grand-e-s » pourra être apposé au mot « дьиэ » signifiant « maison ».

 

улахан           дьиэ (une grande maison), улахан дьиэлэр (de grandes maisons), улахан дьиэҕэ (dans une grande maison)

 

Les adjectifs possessifs en iakoute

 

Les pronoms personnels utilisés pour indiquer « je, tu, il, nous, vous, ils » sont les mêmes que pour les adjectifs possessifs « mon, ton, son, sa, notre, votre, leur »,  Мин (mon), Эн (ton), Кини (son), БиҺиги (notre), ЭҺиги (votre), Кинилэр (leur). Voici donc la liste :

Мин (je), Эн (tu), Кини (il, elle), БиҺиги (nous), ЭҺиги (vous), Кинилэр (ils, elles).

 

Les verbes et la conjugaison en iakoute

 

Les verbes iakoutes possèdent deux modèles selon qu’ils se terminent par une consonne « гын (faire) » ou par une voyelle « сатаа (savoir faire) ». La conjugaison iakoute comprend 4 temps : présent, passé récent, passé éloigné et futur. Comme pour l’ensemble des aspects de la langue iakoute, c’est l’ajout d’un suffixe (changeant en fonction du temps) qui crée la négation.

La déclinaison de la langue iakoute

 

La langue iakoute comprend une déclinaison à 8 cas :

 

Nominatif : cas sujet

Partitif : complément du nom. Il correspond au « de » français comme dans l’expression « l’ami de mon père.

Datif : complément d’objet indirect. Répond à la question « à quoi? À qui? »

Accusatif : complément d’objet direct. Répond à la question « Quoi? Qui? »

Ablatif : Indique l’origine. Il répond aux questions « De qui? De la part de qui? De quoi? D’où?

Instrumental : indique la manière et répond à la question « par qui, pas quoi? Avec quoi?

Accompagnatif : indique ce qui accompagne l’action

Comparatif : ce cas marque la supériorité et répond à la question « plus que qui? » ou « plus que quoi? »

 

En langue iakoute, les types de déclinaisons sont nombreux. Il y a une déclinaison particulière pour les noms simples, pour les noms munis d’un suffixe d’appartenance et une dernière pour les pronoms personnels.