Sherpa language

Sherpa Audio Course - Language of the People of Everest

A mountain people originally from Tibet, the Sherpas are known more for their physical exploits than their rich and fascinating language. The fact remains that they have a language of their own which is very similar to Tibetan.

This Sherpa language method not only aims to help travelers discover this endearing people living not far from Everest but also to rekindle the Sherpa's interest in their own language. Indeed, many young Sherpas speak only Nepali, an everyday language throughout the southern Himalayas.

Like many regional languages ​​Sherpa has an important oral tradition and attempts to write it have not been successful. It is sometimes found written with the Tibetan or Devanagari alphabet. Even if considered as a language in its own right, its Tibetan root runs deep and it closely resembles a Tibetan dialect spoken in the eastern province of Kham in the 15th century. The Sherpa has nevertheless developed in its own way for over 500 years. Direct contacts with the people currently living on Nepalese territory have enriched its vocabulary and it is not uncommon for a loan word to be used to the detriment of the original word in Sherpa.

Sherpa is a language of the Tibetan-Burmese family spoken by around 200,000 people (180,000 in Nepal, 20,000 in India in Sikkim, and less than 1,000 in China.

Welcome to the fascinating world of these mountain people!

Leçon #1 Sherpa - Copyright @
00:00 / 00:00

La langue sherpa

Cours audio de sherpa - Langue du peuple de l'Everest

Peuple de montagnes originaire du Tibet, les Sherpas sont davantage connus pour leurs exploits physiques que leur langue pourtant riche et passionnante. Il n'en reste pas moins qu'ils ont une langue qui leur est propre et qui se rapproche grandement du tibétain. 

Cette méthode de langue sherpa a non seulement pour but d'aider les voyageurs à découvrir ce peuple attachant vivant non loin de l'Everest mais aussi de raviver l'intérêt des Sherpas pour leur propre langue. En effet, beaucoup de jeunes Sherpas ne parlent que le népali, langue de tous les jours dans l'ensemble de l'Himalaya sud.

Comme bon nombre de langues régionales le sherpa possède une tradition orale importante et les tentatives de l'écrire non pas été fructueuses. On la retrouve parfois écrite avec l'alphabet tibétain ou devanagari. Même si on la considère comme une langue à part entière, sa racine tibétaine est profonde et elle se rapproche grandement d'un dialecte tibétain parlé dans la province orientale du Kham au 15ème siècle. Le Sherpa  s’est  néanmoins développé à sa manière depuis plus de 500 ans. Les contacts directs avec les peuples vivant actuellement sur le territoire népalais ont enrichi son vocabulaire et il n'est pas rare qu'un mot d'emprunt soit utilisé au détriment du mot d'origine en sherpa.  

Le sherpa est une langue de la famille tibéto-birmane parlée par environ 200 000 personnes (180 000 au Népal, 20 000 en Inde au Sikkim et moins de 1000 en Chine.

Bienvenue dans le monde fascinant de ce peuple de montagne!

Leçon #1 Sherpa - Copyright @
00:00 / 00:00